What are the best books by Madeleine L'Engle in chronological order?

asked by Anonymous
69 contributors
8 solutions
  1. 15

    #1A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet)

    A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet)
    A Wrinkle in Time, the first in Madeleine L'Engle's Time Quartet series, is centered on how Meg Murry and her family met an unearthly stranger during a stormy night and was introduced to the tesseract, which is the book's term for a wrinkle in time.

    Check price

    Timothy Bailey
    Written on April 27, 2018
    "this must be a good book"
  2. 12

    #2A Wind in the Door (The Time Quintet)

    A Wind in the Door (The Time Quintet)

    Madeleine L'Engle's A Wind in the Door is the second book from her classic fantasy novel, A Wind in the Door. The novel won the 1963 Newbery Medal along with A Wrinkle in Time. 


    Check price

    Emily Fu
    Written on April 14, 2018
    "Hi, I loved The title of A Wind in the Door comes from a quote from Le Morte d'Arthur. It comes from a conversation between Arthur and Sir Gareth about free will. My understanding is that the wind blowing in the door refers to the choices that Meg and others have to make throughout the story, and the interconnectedness of all things, within the macrocosm of the universe and the human being, down to the microcosm of the mitochondria. I will say that Madeleine L'Engle is a brilliant writer. She knows how to mix science, religion, and fantasy all together in one. Her imagination is still ages beyond this current world. We still have a lot of catching up to do. I definitely recommend it! Thank you so much"
  3. 10

    #3Many Waters (The Time Quintet)

    Many Waters (The Time Quintet)

    Madeleine L'Engle's Many Waters is the fourth book form her classic fantasy series,  Time. The novel about the adventures of twins, Sandy and Dennys, was first published on published September 1st, 1986).


    Check price

    Jordan Bailey
    Written on April 12, 2018
    "Madeleine L'Engle is a wonderful author. My book club decided to read this series and it was great. We just finished this one and I would highly recommend it. "
  1. 9

    #4Meet the Austins

    Meet the Austins

     Madeleine L'Engle's Meet the Austins is the first book from her Austin Family Chronicles. The book is about Vicky Austin's repulsion towards Maggy, a new member of the family. 


    Check price

    Zachary Reyes
    Written on April 13, 2018
    "Meet the Austins is book one of The Austin Family Chronicles. The book is written by Madeleine L'Engle a Newbery Medal-winning author of more than 60 books. The book is available in Hardcover, Paperback and Kindle versions."
  2. 6

    #5An Acceptable Time (Time Quintet)

    An Acceptable Time (Time Quintet)

    An Acceptable Time is the fifth book from Madeleine L'Engle's classic fantasy series, Time. The book is about Polly and how she opened the time gate to a somewhere that existed 3000 years ago. 


    Check price

    Frank Dunn
    Written on April 16, 2018
    "The 5th book in a great fantasy series I haven't been able to put down. Every night even if I don't have time, I find time. Enjoy at least a chapter, a must read."
  3. 5

    #6The Moon by Night (Austin Family Chronicles)

    The Moon by Night (Austin Family Chronicles)

    Madeleine L'Engle's The Moon by Night is the second book from her series Austin Family Chronicles. This book about 14-year-old Vicky and her "difficult year" was published on March 15th, 1981 by Laurel Leaf.


    Check price

    There are no comments yet!

    Share your opinion
  4. 3

    #7The Arm of the Starfish

    The Arm of the Starfish

     Madeleine L'Engle's The Arm of the Starfish is the first book from the O' Keefe Family series. The book is a marine biologist who meets a beautiful girl and discovers a whole lot of other secrets. 


    Check price

    Gregorio Alarcón
    Written on April 18, 2018
    "The book is a good young adult read. The characters and plot are well written. I wouldn't rate it as the best of her series, but it kept me entertained from beginning to end."
  5. 1

    #8The Young Unicorns

    The Young Unicorns

    Madeleine L'Engle's The Young Unicorns is the third books from the Austin Family Chronicles. The children's classic was published on January 1st, 1989 by Laurel Leaf Library,


    Check price

    Annie Zhang
    Written on April 13, 2018
    "Until recently I knew nothing about this series. Like many, I knew all about The Wrinkle in Time series, but nothing about this one. I've been reading aloud these books to my two oldest children and they always ask for one more chapter, so I'm calling it a win. "


Best What are the best books by Madeleine L'Engle in chronological order
1A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet)Books 15 Paid
2A Wind in the Door (The Time Quintet)Books 12 Paid
3Many Waters (The Time Quintet)Books 10 Paid
4Meet the AustinsBooks 9 Paid
5An Acceptable Time (Time Quintet)Books 6 Paid
6The Moon by Night (Austin Family Chronicles)Books 5 Paid
7The Arm of the StarfishBooks 3 Paid
8The Young UnicornsBooks 1 Paid

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!


Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.