What are the best books for fans of Hayao Miyazaki?

asked by Mister Themistokles
66 contributors
8 solutions
  1. 15

    #1Howl's Moving Castle

    Howl's Moving Castle

    'Howl's Moving Castle' is a fantasy novel written by Diana Wynne Jones which inspired the namesake movie by Hayao Miyazaki. Sophie, the eldest of three daughters, leaves home to seek her fate. A spell transforms her into an old lady: the only chance to break it lies in the Howl's moving castle.

    Books

    Check price

    Joyce Armstrong
    Written on April 29, 2018
    "I think Howl's Moving Castle is one of the best fantasy novels ever written, and if you have seen the movie you will adore the book as well! I just love the story and the fantastic characters, you can tell Diana Wynne wrote this book with layers of love. "
  2. 11

    #2Half World

    Half World
    'Half World' is a novel written by Hiromi Goto which tells the story of Melanie, a human teenager with no human parents. One day, her mother disappears and she has to follow her to Half World to save her. What she doesn't know is that the future of the universe is in her hands.
    Books

    Check price

    Douglas Cooper
    Written on April 19, 2018
    "The cover art style for this book is great, I am not familiar with the author but judging by his titles, I feel like I should be getting into her work, I am interested for sure. Hayao Miyazaki is widely known for his masterpieces like the most famous one, My Neighbor Totoro, this book is in the spectrum in that category but I can say, this one is worth reading without the comparison."
  3. 10

    #3The Girl with Ghost Eyes (Xian Li-lin)

    The Girl with Ghost Eyes (Xian Li-lin)
    The Girl with Ghost Eyes is the first book in Xian Li-lin series written by M. H. Boroson. It is a historical paranormal fantasy novel published by Talos in 2015. 
    Books

    Check price

    Madison Perry
    Written on April 26, 2018
    "If your a fan of Hayao Miyazaki, then you will love this book. The different spirits and mythological creatures will keep you reading and interested to find out more. I hope M.H. Boroson writes more of this series!"
  1. 8

    #4This One Summer

    This One Summer

    'This One Summer' is a graphic novel by Mariko Tamaki illustrated by Jillian Tamaki. Rose and Windy are two friends that meet every summer in Awago Beach, their refuge. But this year, the two girls will find themselves caught by new problems, secrets, sorrow and growing up.

    Books

    Check price

    Brittany Wade
    Written on May 3, 2018
    "This book is beautifully illustrated and displays the point in your life when you start expanding your horizons. The design is reminiscent of Hayao Miyazaki's work and will definitely pull you in with the attention to detail. The plot line is relatableto almost everyone who has experienced teenagehood."
  2. 5

    #5Uprooted

    Uprooted
    Uprooted is a young adult fiction novel written by Naomi Novik which centers on 17-year-old Agnieszka living in a village under wizard Sarkan, known as the Dragon. This has won the Nebula Award for the Best Novel. 
    Books

    Check price

    Samuel Wade
    Written on April 26, 2018
    "Uprooted is a wonderful book that any fan of Hayo Miyazaki is sure to enjoy "
  3. 5

    #6The Borrowers

    The Borrowers
    'The Borrowers' is a fantasy novel written by Mary Norton originally published in 1952. It tells the story of a tiny-sized family who live underneath the kitchen floor of an old English country house.
    Books

    Check price

    Lisa Jacobs
    Written on April 29, 2018
    "The Borrowers is a pretty good book (and movie). However, I don't know if you'd like it if you are a fan of Hayao Miyazaki. Don't go in expecting work like his."
  4. 3

    #7The Wind in the Willows

    The Wind in the Willows
    'The Wind in the Willows' is a classic fantasy tale written by Kenneth Grahame which has become a must-read for kids and teenagers. It tells the adventures of Rat, Mole, Badger and Mr. Toad, a group of eccentric talking animals.
    Books

    Check price

    Randy Lewis
    Written on April 25, 2018
    "This book takes you on a journey. It is a wild ride from beginning to end, and overall i think this book is great for anyone. People who like good books, and good movies should not hesitate to read this."
  5. 1

    #8The Hobbit

    The Hobbit

    The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien is a modern classic and the prelude to The Lord of the Rings. Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable life, but his contentment is disturbed when Gandalf and a group of dwarves arrive on his doorstep.

    Books

    Check price

    Matthew Graham
    Written on April 25, 2018
    "The Hobbit is a classic. There really aren't words to describe it that haven't already been used by other reviewers. JRR Tolkien is the king of high fantasy, and The Hobbit is a masterpiece created by a master. If you've never read anything in the Middle-Earth series, you're in for a treat with the "beginning" of the story."

Summary

Best What are the best books for fans of Hayao Miyazaki
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1Howl's Moving CastleBooks 15 Paid
2Half WorldBooks 11 Paid
3The Girl with Ghost Eyes (Xian Li-lin)Books 10 Paid
4This One SummerBooks 8 Paid
5UprootedBooks 5 Paid
6The BorrowersBooks 5 Paid
7The Wind in the WillowsBooks 3 Paid
8The HobbitBooks 1 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.