What are the best Books like Harry Potter?

asked by Anonymous
357 contributors
19 solutions
  1. 39

    #1The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)

    The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)
    The Lightning Thief is the first book in Rick Riordan's series Percy Jackson & the Olympians. In this book, Jackson discovers that he's Poseidon's son and must stop a war between the gods by finding the thief who stole Zeus' master bolt. 
    Books

    Check price

    Bruce Sandoval
    Written on January 28, 2018
    "Highly derivative, generic fantasy. There's not really anything about this story that you haven't read at least several times already, if you're an avid reader of fantasy. Not a terrible book, but nothing new by any means. "
  2. 34

    #2The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus)

    The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus)
    The Lost Hero, the first book in Rick Riordan's Heroes of Olympus series, is centered on three new demigods: Jason, Piper, and Leo who go on a journey with their newly discovered powers to look for a lost hero and fulfill a long-awaited prophecy.

    Books

    Check price

    Ann Watkins
    Written on February 7, 2018
    "I love a good book. My favorites are usually modern day stories about normal people with a little bit of magic thrown in to make it interesting. I originally started reading the Percy Jackson series because my granddaughter liked the movie. So I bought her the series and we read at least a chapter or two every time we spend a few hours together. My girl does most of the reading and I sort of explain the parts or words she doesn't understand. We've almost finished all of the Percy Jackson series. And I must confess, since I read just a bit faster, I've moved onto the Lost Hero series. It started a bit slower than the other books. But as I read the story I found myself wondering how it was going to play out. Greek mythology is just as fascinating as Roman mythology. I like that they're being mixed together and how these series are overlapping. The message I see in both series is one of honesty, and friendship and trust. The concept of right and wrong should be installed into young people at an early age. Age appropriate explanations of actions and consequences. These books have helped my granddaughter, who is just about 8 years old, to learn to think about what will happen once she has said or done something. I'm thankful there are stories that have captured her interest and attention. She is also beginning to understand that the lessons these books are helping her to learn will help her throughout her life!! That is the best compliment I can give to any author and his/her stories. "
  3. 33

    #3Quidditch Through the Ages

    Quidditch Through the Ages

    Quidditch Through the Ages is a volume of information regarding Quidditch, the wizard sport played in the Harry Potter Series. This book tells where the Golden Snitch came from and how the Bludgers came into existence. Proceeds go to Comic Relief.

    Books

    Check price

    Richard Fox
    Written on February 6, 2018
    "I love Harry Potter and have wanted to read similar books set in the same universe. I recently found "Quidditch Through the Ages" and was amazed at how well it was written. It really surprised me how they could take a fake sport and invent a whole history behind it. I was addicted throughout the book!"
  1. 29

    #4The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus)

    The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus)
    The Son of Neptune, the second book in Rick Riordan's Heroes of Olympus series, is centered on a dazed Percy Jackson who remembers nothing of his past, a revived Hazel Levesque, and a clumsy Frank Zhang. 
    Books

    Check price

    Pranav Patel
    Written on February 8, 2018
    "This was a great book and I was hooked on it! I couldn't put it down it was so good! Highly recommend it!"
  2. 28

    #5The Hobbit

    The Hobbit

    The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien is a modern classic and the prelude to The Lord of the Rings. Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable life, but his contentment is disturbed when Gandalf and a group of dwarves arrive on his doorstep.

    Books

    Check price

    Gregory Rodriguez
    Written on February 8, 2018
    "If you want to read something with a similar story line to Harry Potter then I don't think that you can get much better than The Hobbit. J.R.R. Tolkien's books never cease to amaze me. As good as the Lord of The Rings was I have to say that the Hobbit is my favorite. If you liked Harry Potter then you'll love this. I can't recommend it enough."
  3. 26

    #6The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chronicles)

    The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chronicles)
    Magical siblings Carter and Sadie Kane return in The Throne of Fire, the second book of the Kane Chronicles. In this book, the kids must beat an ancient monster, but the only god that can help them is the one god who's been missing for a long while.

    Books

    Check price

    Cheryl Nguyen
    Written on January 27, 2018
    "For fans of fantasy, this is a must read. An exhilarating and fun read that will have you glued to the book. It's truly a page turner and you get a sense of adventure and mystery which is the thing I most enjoy about this series."
  4. 23

    #7Eragon (Inheritance)

    Eragon (Inheritance)
    Eragon is the first book in the best selling tetralogy, Inheritance Cycle. The book tells the story of the 15-year-old farm boy Eragon, and how his discovery of a dragon's egg led to a world of action and adventure.  
    Books

    Check price

    Justin Duncan
    Written on February 6, 2018
    "Eragon and its associated book series are somewhat similar to the Harry Potter series. It seems like it is more focused around mythical creatures than about people performing magical spells. Kids seem to think it's a good page-turner though, it might be a good book to pick up for your kids for a road trip or something."
  5. 22

    #8The Tales of Beedle the Bard

    The Tales of Beedle the Bard

    The Tales of Beedle the Bard is a collection of popular stories written for young wizards and witches in the fictional world in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series. All profits from the sale of this eBook go to The Lumos Foundation.

    Books

    Check price

    Gilberto Alvarado
    Written on January 27, 2018
    "Jk Rowling can do no wrong. Everything in the harry Potter universe is a must buy for me. I need to know more. I want to live in Harry Potter land. I shall not be named!"
  6. 21

    #9City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments)

    City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments)
    City of Bones is about 15-year-old Clary Fray and a weird murder that she witnessed in a city club. The culprit is invisible, and the body disappeared into thin air then an angel came and everything gets messier when Clary's mother is gone.
    Books

    Check price

    Jesse James
    Written on February 6, 2018
    "This book is the first in what has turned out to be a very popular series. It's received both a lot of reviews, and a lot of very positive ones at that.. Plus, it's aimed at young readers and that's a great thing. Anything to get them to put down their phones is a win in my book."
  7. 17

    #10The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials)

    The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials)
    The Golden Compass is the first book in Philip Pullman's trilogy His Dark Materials, and mainly centers on Lyra and her adventures to find her missing friend Roger and her captured uncle, Asriel.
    Books

    Check price

    Jesse Tucker
    Written on January 31, 2018
    "I see you're a Harry Potter fan huh. Like the books more than the movie? Yeah I too liked the books more than the movies. If you're looking for something new to read I can I suggest the "The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials)" Its has the mystery that the potter books had but also stays original with its own twists and tales thru a dark world full of magic. Try them out I think you might like them."
  8. 17

    #11The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles)

    The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles)
    Carter and Sadie were reunited by their father Julius for a research experiment, but it unleashed a result far more terrifying than Julius ever wanted. An ancient dangerous god is awakening, and the siblings can only stop him by discovering and embracing their lineage.
    Books

    Check price

    Raymond Moore
    Written on January 28, 2018
    "This is a great series if you like fantasy novels like Harry Potter. It's very engaging and it doesn't stop with just one book. I highly recommend this book if Egyptian mythology is your thing."
  9. 13

    #12Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)

    Catching Fire (The Hunger Games)
    There is civil unrest in the districts, and the Capitol is getting tired of quelling these disturbances. In Catching Fire, the Capitol sends a chilling message to the districts to remind them of who is really in charge.
    Books

    Check price

    Helen Wong
    Written on February 5, 2018
    "I wanted the best books like harry potter. I found Catching Fire (The Hunger Games), which has been very fun to read, lots of drama along with action."
  10. 13

    #13The Hunger Games

    The Hunger Games

    The Hunger Games is the first novel of The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins which centers on Katniss Everdeen who volunteers as tribute to replace her younger sister in a game televised and ruled by a dictatorial government.

    Books

    Check price

    Andrew Richardson
    Written on February 7, 2018
    "Anyone who is a big fan of the Harry Potter series will definitely find themselves loving The Hunger Games. Katniss Everdeen must find a way to keep herself alive while everyone is going after her. She has to survive so many obstacles and try to get her life back. Join Katniss in Panem and go on an amazing adventure today!"
  11. 9

    #14The Chronicles of Narnia

    The Chronicles of Narnia

    This set contains all seven tales of C. S. Lewis' classic The Chronicles of Narnia. The series brings you to Narnia, the magical world filled with talking animals and powerful beasts that is connected to the real world through an unlikely portal.

    Books

    Check price

    Jacob Gonzalez
    Written on February 6, 2018
    "The Chronicles of Narnia is a fantasy series that has the same feel and gravitas. It is a wonderful series that is equally engaging. It has a wonderful lore."
  12. 7

    #15The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)

    The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)
    The Last Olympian, the last book in Rick Riordan's series Percy Jackson & the Olympians, is centered on how Percy trained to fulfill his destiny and lead the heroes in protecting Mount Olympus against the Titan King, Kronos.


    Books

    Check price

    Kyle Lucas
    Written on February 8, 2018
    "The Percy Jackson series is a young adult fantasy series in a similar vein of Harry Potter. Rather than the wizarding world, there is a world filled with the gods of Mount Olympus and greek culture. If you've enjoyed Harry Potter I highly recommend it."
  13. 4

    #16Percy Jackson and the Titan's Curse

    Percy Jackson and the Titan's Curse

    Percy Jackson and The Titan's Curse is the third book in Rick Riordan's Greek mythology-based fantasy adventure series for children and teens. It was originally published in 2009. It is about Percy trying to hold off an ancient curse.

    Books

    Check price

    Jeffrey Ruiz
    Written on May 11, 2018
    "The Percy Jackson series is a lot like Harry Potter. It transports me to a magical and exciting place, while still maintaining the comfort and familiarity of most of the world as we know it. "
  14. 2

    #17Isle of Winds (The Changeling)

    Isle of Winds (The Changeling)

    Isle of Winds tells the story of Robin Fellows, a 12-year-old boy who lives with his grandmother. His life is turned upside down when his grandmother died so he has to live with his long-lost relative. There, he discovers things about his great aunt and himself.
    Books

    Check price

    David Dunn
    Written on February 9, 2018
    "Harry Potter has ended but that does not mean that I can't enjoy its expanded universe. Harry Potter's expanded universe still brings me great joy after all these years. This is another recommendation that will keep me engaged in the Harry Potter universe for years to come. "
  15. 1

    #18The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)

    The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)

    Battle of the Labyrinth, the fourth book in Rick Riordan's series Percy Jackson & the Olympians, is centered on how Percy and his demigod friends braved a vast and dangerous maze to save Camp Half-Blood from an expected attack from the Titan Kronos. 

    Books

    Check price

    Mary King
    Written on February 5, 2018
    "Did you like Harry Potter? Like magic? Then the Percy Jackson series is for you. Focused more on normal lore than magic, it is a strong tale of heroism. Be careful if you let your kids read it though. They may think they can do more than they can and consider you one of the Titans."
  16. 0

    #19Harry Potter and History

    Harry Potter and History
    Harry Potter and History is a companion book written and edited by Nancy Reagin. It is a guidebook about the fictional wizard world and the real British school system. This edition was released in April 2011.
    Books

    Check price

    Thomas Tran
    Written on March 22, 2018
    "This book is for diehard fans of the Harry Potter series, and for those who want to know how much historical truth there is the novels. Harry Potter and History will also be a hit with Anglophiles, as it contains a ton of useful information about the UK school system."

Summary

Best What are the best Books like Harry Potter
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)Books 39 Paid
2The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus)Books 34 Paid
3Quidditch Through the AgesBooks 33 Paid
4The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus)Books 29 Paid
5The HobbitBooks 28 Paid
6The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chronicles)Books 26 Paid
7Eragon (Inheritance)Books 23 Paid
8The Tales of Beedle the Bard Books 22 Paid
9City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments)Books 21 Paid
10The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials)Books 17 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.