What are the best books like Sarah Dessen's?

asked by Anonymous
111 contributors
11 solutions
  1. 18

    #1Stealing Heaven

    Stealing Heaven

    Stealing Heaven by Elizabeth Scott is a chick lit fiction on self-discovery. The story revolves around the idea of choosing the life you have always wanted or being loyal to the life that you have.

    Books

    Check price

    Denise Tran
    Written on April 27, 2018
    "This was a little too cheesy for me. It is perfectly fine for a beach read. No tthe best for sure."
  2. 14

    #2Fixing Delilah

    Fixing Delilah

    Fixing Delilah by Sarah Ockler is a romantic young adult book on a complex bond between a mother and her daughter on facing their family's painful past. This book was published in 2010.

    Books

    Check price

    Kathleen Schultz
    Written on April 24, 2018
    "If you've ever read any of Sarah Dessen's books and enjoyed them, I highly recommend reading Fixing Delilah. It discuses a girl's journey through her life and relationships with others. This is a simple read that is sure to please. "
  3. 14

    #3The Secret Life of Prince Charming

    The Secret Life of Prince Charming

    The Secret Life of Prince Charming by Deb Caletti is a young adult book realistic fiction on what life is really all about: love, pain, bliss, and fear. This book was published in 2009.

    Books

    Check price

    Brian Bradley
    Written on April 21, 2018
    "This book is both charming and entertaining. I have never read a novel by Deb Caletti, but I am glad I have discovered this talented writer. This is one of those books that goes without saying, "Don't judge a book by its cover.""
  1. 12

    #4Squashed

    Squashed

    Squashed is a young-adult fiction book written by Joan Bauer. This was originally published in 1992. It tells the story of a 16-year-old girl on how she attracts Wes.

    Books

    Check price

    Russell Day
    Written on April 29, 2018
    "I was looking for books like Sarah Dessen's and came across this thanks for the "recommended" tab when I was looking at a Dessen book. I ended up grabbing the ebook of this and I gotta admit this is really good. I might not be the target audience, it seems to be for teens but I am getting a lot of enjoyment out of this. "
  2. 11

    #5Eggs

    Eggs

    Nine-year-old David has recently lost his mother to a freak accident, his salesman father is constantly on the road, and he is letting his anger out on his grandmother. Sarcastic and bossy 13-year-old Primrose lives with her childlike, fortuneteller mother, and a framed picture is the only evidence of the father she never knew. Despite their differences, David and Primrose forge a tight yet tumultuous friendship, eventually helping each other deal with what is missing in their lives. This powerful, quirky novel about two very complicated, damaged children has much to say about friendship, loss, and recovery.

    Books

    Check price

    Paul Barnes
    Written on April 21, 2018
    "This is a book about loss and trying to get back to normal for two kids. I think this book would help those people who are going through loss themselves and helping them feel not alone. I wouldn't like this book because it sounds depressing to me."
  3. 9

    #6Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks

    Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks

    Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle is a contemporary romantic fiction for young adults. This book was published in 2009. This book is about breaking the norms of living with wealth and privilege.

    Books

    Check price

    Albert Gray
    Written on April 22, 2018
    "This solution is not the best one out there. While Sarah Dessen books deal with a change in a youth’s personality as they go through some sort of tragedy or loss, the solution is a boot about living with wealth and privilege. Many school libraries don't shelve the book due to scenes of alleged sexuality, homosexuality, or alcohol use"
  4. 8

    #7Something, Maybe

    Something, Maybe
    Something, Maybe by Elizabeth Scott is a contemporary fiction book on romance. This book narrates romantic comedies in between lines that shows the witty side of each serious characters.
    Books

    Check price

    Doris Schmidt
    Written on April 22, 2018
    "Again I am sure this book is geared more towards young teens, wondering more and more about teenage life and why their parents are embarrassing and the way they are. Although it is a fiction book, I am sure that you can easily place yourself in this characters shoes. Very inexpensive and has great reviews. Seems like an interesting read."
  5. 5

    #8Perfect You

    Perfect You

    Perfect You by Elizabeth Scott is a realistic fiction for the young adult. This book has characters that show life may not always be perfect but it can be good only if you let things happen.

    Books

    Check price

    Beverly Perkins
    Written on April 21, 2018
    "Great book for young adults to learn about how to allow themselves to be happy. Perfect for teens struggling with anxiety about their future. "
  6. 5

    #9Flipped

    Flipped

    This book narrates the lives of Julianna Baker and Bryce Loski, two classmates who first met when they were in second grade. The whole story is told in alternating chapters, in which we can know what they want and who they want to be with as years go by. 

    Books

    Check price

    Olivia Ortega
    Written on April 24, 2018
    "I have not read this book or anything by Sarah Dressen. This book, Flipped, appears somewhat like the Sarah Dessen books in the regards that it is a romantic adventure though. "
  7. 3

    #10So B. It

    So B. It

    So B. It is a magnificent novel written by Sarah Weeks that tells the story of a girl who starts a trip to find the truth about her parents. It is a wonderful text for young people.



    Books

    Check price

    Stephen Chavez
    Written on April 22, 2018
    "I love Sarah Dessen's books. They imagine beautiful stories about girls who are living their lives and finding ways to survive in this harsh world. The female characters are always incredibly detailed in their motive for being so mentally strong. This is a great companion piece to Sarah Dessen's book. "
  8. 1

    #11Saint Anything

    Saint Anything

    Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen tells the story of Sydney who has a brother named Peyton. Peyton is the favorite of the family even if he has unwanted behaviors. Sydney meets Mac who notices her the way she wants to be noticed.

    Books

    Check price

    Janet Carlson
    Written on April 26, 2018
    "I just read Saint Anything and I really loved the book. I think it's one of the best books by Sarah Dessen. She masterfully intertwines the story and quickly gets you connected to the characters. This books hits home to a lot of people because we all have parts of this story in our families. "

Summary

Best What are the best books like Sarah Dessen's
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1Stealing HeavenBooks 18 Paid
2Fixing DelilahBooks 14 Paid
3The Secret Life of Prince CharmingBooks 14 Paid
4SquashedBooks 12 Paid
5EggsBooks 11 Paid
6Peace, Love, and Baby DucksBooks 9 Paid
7Something, MaybeBooks 8 Paid
8Perfect YouBooks 5 Paid
9FlippedBooks 5 Paid
10So B. ItBooks 3 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.