What are the best books of the decade so far according to The Oyster Review?

asked by Anonymous
313 contributors
13 solutions
  1. 36

    #1All the Light We Cannot See

    All the Light We Cannot See
    All The Light We Cannot See is a vividly-written story about Marie Laure, a blind French girl, and Werner, a German boy in the Nazi army. Winner of a 2015 Pulitzer Prize, it shows that there can still be beauty amidst the tragedy of war.
    Books

    Check price

    Wayne Harper
    Written on April 16, 2018
    "The Oyster review can be review tough, but this book keeps the norm. It gives information on Nazi boy, and all the drama that goes with."
  2. 32

    #2Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore

    Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore

    Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore is a novel by Robin Sloan. It tells the story of Clay Jannon, who started working at Mr. Penumbra's bookstore. While there, he investigated the shop's patrons and discovers a conspiracy about the book world.

    Books

    Check price

    Benjamin Matthews
    Written on March 4, 2018
    "Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore was a good book. I hear that it is one of the best books of the decade so far according to The Oyster Review. I wouldn't quite put it that high, but it is definitely worth the read!"
  3. 32

    #3The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks is a non-fiction book by Rebecca Skloot. It tells the story of Henrietta Lacks, whose cells were unknowingly taken from her and used in medical research. These cells have outlived her for 60 years.
    Books

    Check price

    Leonardo Mata
    Written on March 9, 2018
    "Biographies are important for history reasons, but I find most of them boring to read. This one is highly reviewed, so worth a check out at least."
  1. 30

    #4Gone Girl

    Gone Girl

    Gone Girl is a 2014 psychological thriller by Gillian Flynn. It tells the story of Nick Dunne and his wife Amy, and revolves around whether or not Nick was involved in his wife's disappearance. This is a tale of vengeance and deceit.

    Books

    Check price

    Katherine Crawford
    Written on April 25, 2018
    "Interesting thriller that's fairly recent. The overall plot is standard though."
  2. 29

    #5The Fault in Our Stars

    The Fault in Our Stars

    The Fault in Our Stars tells the love story of Hazel and August, cancer-afflicted patients who met in a support group and developed a deep relationship revolving their situation.

    Books

    Check price

    Judy Berry
    Written on April 19, 2018
    "I needed the best book of the decade so far according to The Oyster Review and found The Fault in Our Stars. A great book on two people that are sick but develop a relationship. Great story."
  3. 26

    #6Station Eleven

    Station Eleven
    In Station Eleven, a swine flu pandemic wreaked havoc and wiped out the world's population. It follows the lives of a Hollywood actor, a paparazzi, and a traveling group of actors performing for surviving communities.
    Books

    Check price

    Jose Harris
    Written on March 5, 2018
    "Station Eleven is a fantastic book and one of the best of the decade so far according to review. It surrounds a pandemic and the lives of some in the communities that are left."
  4. 25

    #7The Goldfinch

    The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch is a coming-of-age, Pulitzer Prize-winning book by Donna Tartt that tells the story of Theo Decker and how his life was greatly shaped and affected by Carel Fabritius' painting of The Goldfinch.
    Books
    Martha Olson
    Written on March 22, 2018
    "A very interesting story of a child growing up who's life is affected by a painting. This is a very good work of fiction and the story is full of suspense. The character development is stellar with a wide variety of interesting people to move the story forward. Very long though it took me the better part of 2 weeks to finish it and it was well worth it. Highly reviewed and read by many people."
  5. 24

    #8Americanah

    Americanah

    Americanah is a novel Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. It tells the story of Ifemelu and Obinze, who fell in love with each other as high school students. After living on separate continents, they return to Nigeria and the spark reignites.

    Books

    Check price

    Abhinav Kapur
    Written on March 12, 2018
    "I check out the The Oyster Review. I like the picks there. My latest one is Americanah. Americanah was a interesting read. I got some good life takeaways from it which is rare for me. I think about the story sometimes since I been finished reading it. I recommend this book strongly."
  6. 21

    #9The Girl on the Train

    The Girl on the Train

    The Girl on the Train is a psychological thriller wherein Rachel, the protagonist, takes the same train on her everyday commute. She always catches a glimpse of a couple from the window of the train, and one day when she witnesses something terrible.


    Books

    Check price

    Nathan Peters
    Written on April 25, 2018
    "The Girl on the Train is a psychological thriller wherein Rachel, the protagonist, takes the same train on her everyday commute. She always catches a glimpse of a couple from the window of the train, and one day when she witnesses something terrible. "
  7. 20

    #10Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell)

    Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell)

    Bring Up The Bodies is a Booker Prize-winning novel by Hilary Mantel. It tells the story of Anne Boleyn as she stands trial for adultery, as part of Henry VIII's ploy to bring her down. It is the second book in the Thomas Cromwell series. 

    Books

    Check price

    Katherine Kelly
    Written on March 6, 2018
    "Great selection for book of the decade. Bring up the Bodies is a riveting story about Anne Boleyn. This book deserved to get the award for book of the decade, as it keeps your interest and tells the tale of Anne Boleyn in a way as never before."
  8. 16

    #11Just Kids

    Just Kids

    Just Kids is a memoir written by legendary punk rock icon, Patti Smith. It was originally published in 2010 by Ecco. It won the National Book Award for Nonfiction.

    Books

    Check price

    Shirley Yang
    Written on May 11, 2018
    "This is a great book by a used-to-be starving artist who finally found her way. I didn't know any of the characters in the book personally, so it was the reputation that brought me to reading this book. I would highly recommend this to anyone. I don't think many people have this kind of life experience anymore nowadays, so it is a glimpse into a past life and the risk-taking of the past. This is a story of a great life and everyone should take the time to get to know the author through this book."
  9. 7

    #12The Psychopath Test

    The Psychopath Test

    The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry is a psychological book written by writer and documentary filmmaker Jon Ronson published in 2011 by Riverhead Books. 

    Books

    Check price

    Ishan Jindal
    Written on April 4, 2018
    "Kind of disconcerting. Sent chills down my spine. It's all about psychopaths, and the journey inside their minds."
  10. 2

    #13Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

    Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

    Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed is an autobiography of the author herself starting from her twenty-two years of age. This book tells a story terrors and pleasures of a strong independent woman.

    Books

    Check price

    Randy Watson
    Written on April 14, 2018
    "This is the best book on Oysters list for sure. Cheryl really brings out the emotion and pulls on your heart strings in this one, such a gripping and emotional book. You really feel like you're shadowing her as she details her hardships and triumphs on her long journy."

Summary

Best What are the best books of the decade so far according to The Oyster Review
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1All the Light We Cannot SeeBooks 36 Paid
2Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour BookstoreBooks 32 Paid
3The Immortal Life of Henrietta LacksBooks 32 Paid
4Gone GirlBooks 30 Paid
5The Fault in Our StarsBooks 29 Paid
6Station ElevenBooks 26 Paid
7The GoldfinchBooks 25 Paid
8AmericanahBooks 24 Paid
9The Girl on the TrainBooks 21 Paid
10Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell)Books 20 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.