What are the best books reviewed by SparkNotes?

asked by Anonymous
229 contributors
10 solutions
  1. 33

    #1The Color Purple

    The Color Purple
    Set deep in the American South, The Color Purple by Alice Walker is the tale of Celie, a young black girl born into poverty and segregation. After living a very hard life, she starts to discover joy and the power of her own spirit.
    Books

    Check price

    Patrick Cox
    Written on May 22, 2018
    "I've been interested finding books with study guides available at SparkNotes. Fortunately, I came across The Color Purple which I had heard good things about and is also on SparkNotes, and it could be one of the best books available on the service based on my reaction upon reading this timeless Alice Walker novel. It's such a profound and powerful read; my only regret is not reading it sooner!"
  2. 30

    #2The American

    The American

    The American is a historical drama novel written by renowned American-born British writer Henry James. It was originally released in 1877. It is about the collision of cultures in the New World and its visitors from Europe.

    Books

    Check price

    Rafael Leal
    Written on May 18, 2018
    "The American is a classic, but I was hoping to find something with the SparkNotes accompanying the text to better help me along in my reading adventure. I liked the book but I struggle with some of the language, and had to look up some reading guides."
  3. 28

    #3Adam Bede

    Adam Bede
    This is the first published work by George Eliot, pen name of Marie Ann Evans. The book perfectly narrates the 19th century English rural life: the plot follows four different characters living in the fictional community of Hayslope, two men and two women who form a love rectangle.





    Books

    Check price

    Cheryl Jensen
    Written on May 17, 2018
    "I love everything about this book. Coming from a small, farming community myself, I could really relate to the environment and the characters in this book. A very well-written story about love and heartache. "
  1. 25

    #4The Count of Monte Cristo

    The Count of Monte Cristo
    The Count of Monte Cristo is written by French author Alexandre Dumas, which is about a man who wanted revenge against those who framed and jailed him for a crime he did not commit. 
    Books

    Check price

    María de Lourdes Salinas
    Written on May 20, 2018
    "The Count of Monte Cristo is a beautiful classic. I first cam across this book while reading the SparkNotes review. The review made me so curious, I immediately bought the book. The book is full of artful writing, strong characters, and a plot that will suck you in."
  2. 24

    #5Alas, Babylon

    Alas, Babylon

    In Alas, Babylon, a small town in Florida is spared from the nuclear war that decimates the world. Led by Randolph Bragg, the inhabitants of the town work together in order to survive and recover from the tragedy.

    Books

    Check price

    Vibhore Rathore
    Written on May 15, 2018
    "An apolocalyptic novel like no other. You will be enthralled by this novel from start to finish. Follow sruvivers as they try to recover from devastation. You'll be rooting for them throughout the story"
  3. 23

    #6Anna Karenina

    Anna Karenina

    Anna Karenina is widely regarded as one of the best books ever written by Leo Tolstoy, which was first published in 1878. This follows the story of Countess Anna Karenina and her affair with Count Vronsky.

    Books

    Check price

    Divya Tambe
    Written on May 19, 2018
    "Well, it is one of the greatest books of all time, so I guess that would make it one of the best reviewed as well?? I read a lot of cliff notes in school to avoid having to read the whole book, but for Anna Karenina you should read the whole thing, it is worth your while."
  4. 21

    #7The Alchemist

    The Alchemist

    The Alchemist is an inspirational fable written by the famous Brazilian author Paolo Coelho. The book gave Coelho the Guinness World Record for the most translations of the same book in 2009. It was originally published in 1993.

    Books

    Check price

    Catherine Martin
    Written on May 16, 2018
    "This book has gotten a lot of hype for several years and for good reason. It's a very powerful, human story, full of lessons and messages that can help the reader view life in a whole different perspective. "
  5. 20

    #8Animal Dreams

    Animal Dreams

    Animal Dreams is a contemporary fiction novel written by Barbara Kingsolver which follows the story of Codi Noline who returns to her hometown Grace, Arizona to face her past. 

    Books

    Check price

    Christian Peterson
    Written on May 16, 2018
    "This girl has a dark past. When I say dark, I mean it. Some things are too unpleasant for fiction. This is one of them. I guess some things just trigger me. without spoiling anything, I'll just say, some things are just to much. Especially for me. Hard pass on this one, folks!"
  6. 12

    #9All the King's Men

    All the King's Men
    The political novel All the King's Men follows the life of Willie Stark, a demagogue and politician. It chronicles his beginnings as a genuine ally of the people and his subsequent corruption because of greed for power.
    Books

    Check price

    Juan Hart
    Written on May 21, 2018
    "All the king's Men is a book that most have had to read for school. Luckily it is also one of the most well reviews books on spark notes and is also a great read. Detailing a young politician and his life this is a must read for many."
  7. 3

    #10The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is an award-winning young adult novel by Sherman Alexie. It tells the story of Junior, a Spokane Indian who left the reservation to go to an all-white high school.


    Books

    Check price

    Rose Campbell
    Written on May 22, 2018
    "I have been reading SparkNotes a lot more recently as I have not really had the time to read full books. One of the best books that I have read the SparkNotes version of is probably The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. "

Summary

Best What are the best books reviewed by SparkNotes
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1The Color PurpleBooks 33 Paid
2The AmericanBooks 30 Paid
3Adam Bede Books 28 Paid
4The Count of Monte CristoBooks 25 Free
5Alas, BabylonBooks 24 Paid
6Anna KareninaBooks 23 Free
7The AlchemistBooks 21 Paid
8Animal DreamsBooks 20 Paid
9All the King's MenBooks 12 Paid
10The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time IndianBooks 3 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.