What are the best books similar to HBO's True Detective?

asked by Anonymous
291 contributors
13 solutions
  1. 36

    #1No Country for Old Men

    No Country for Old Men

    No Country for Old Men is a bestselling mystery novel written by Cormac McCarthy, first published in 2005. Set in the border between Texas and Mexico, it tells the story of Llewellyn Moss and his entanglement in the world of crime.

    Books

    Check price

    Rishika Dasgupta
    Written on May 13, 2018
    "If you are a fan of True Detective, No County for Old Men is something you will enjoy! I could not put this book down. It is a tense thriller filled with twists and turns. I highly recommend this book."
  2. 32

    #2Notes From Underground

    Notes From Underground
    In Notes from the Underground, Fyodor Dostoyevsky tells the story of an unnamed narrator who retreated underground, fully isolating himself from society. It exhibits Dostoyevsky's thoughts on society and the human condition.
    Books

    Check price

    Dylan Lane
    Written on May 2, 2018
    "Notes From Underground is quite a thrilling story. The tale unravels some very interesting and sordid stories. I found the dark and suspenseful style appealing and the payoff satisfying."
  3. 32

    #3The Big Sleep

    The Big Sleep

    The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler is the hero of the author's first groundbreaking novel. This book involves vivid scenes, striking metaphors, and tough lines in between characters.

    Books

    Check price

    Michelle Payne
    Written on May 11, 2018
    "I wanted to read Raymond Chandler's Philip Marlowe series, but I was worried that I might be too influenced by 50 years of watching movies. I was concerned that I might keep picturing Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall, but once I started the novel, the characterization is so well done that my worry now seems silly. Not only are the characters well-written, the novel itself is a joy. It's self-assured yet manages to be surprising. Despite modern sensibilities I felt far less put off by the depictions of women and minorities than I have been in other literature (though it's important to remember the time in which it was written,) and just as I've come to expect from this era's literature - everyone drinks a lot (that's not a good thing, but it is true.) Even knowing how this story was going to unfold, I was drawn in by the story and could picture every step Marlowe took. There are "broads" and "dames" but the books feel less tawdry than the movies do. I'm working my way through the series, and I will admit the tone wears a bit thin if I read too much without throwing another book or type of book in the mix. That's fine - unlike the characters and their liquor, I will savor each one slowly, imbibing over time. "
  1. 29

    #4Heart of Darkness

    Heart of Darkness

    Heart of Darkness is a novella by Joseph Conrad that tells the story of Charles Marlow and his voyage on the Congo River. The story is inspired by Conrad's own experiences traveling in the Congo River in a Belgian trading steamer. 

    Books

    Check price

    Gloria Keller
    Written on May 14, 2018
    "Heart of Darkness is a literary classic, and it is known as the inspiration for Apocalypse Now. Modern audiences may struggle with it, but it is not Conrad's fault. His talent inspired many of the greats."
  2. 27

    #5The Black Dahlia

    The Black Dahlia

    California, January 15th, 1947. The body of a young woman is found in a vacant lot in Los Angeles. This is the beginning of the biggest manhunt in the history of California.  An investigation conducted by Bucky Bleichert and Lee Blanchard. 

    Books

    Check price

    María de Lourdes Uribe
    Written on May 5, 2018
    "Do you like to figure stuff out and pretend to be the smartest person in the room? Maybe that's just me. Maybe you really are the smartest person in the room. Either way, you'll probably love this book. Set during Hollywood's golden age, it's a wonderful tale that the author weaves and you won't want to put it down. "
  3. 26

    #6The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories

    The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories

    The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories is a selection of Lovecraft's terrifying tales including classics like 'The Outsider' or 'The Call of Cthulhu'. It is 452 pages of psychological and paranormal stories written by the reinventor of the terror genre. 

    Books

    Check price

    Echo Wan
    Written on May 14, 2018
    "This book is a collection of H.P's tales. A wonderful collection of very thrilling and very disturbing stories! . Extremely entertaining and I highly recommend it to any fan of horror/thriller stories!"
  4. 25

    #7Thus Spoke Zarathustra

    Thus Spoke Zarathustra

    The most accessible and influential work of Nietzsche, the most influencer philosopher of the 19th and 20th century. In this book, Nietzsche explains the basis of provocative and utterance 'God is dead'.

    Books

    Check price

    Virginia Gutiérrez
    Written on May 5, 2018
    "This book was very interesting for me to read. I didn't understand everything because I don't know much about philosophy. But I would like to learn more about philosophy, so I liked reading this book."
  5. 22

    #8Mystic River

    Mystic River

    Mystic River is a crime mystery suspense fiction written by Dennis Lehane. This thriller novel is first published in 2001 by William Morrow Paperbacks.

    Books

    Check price

    Charles Taylor
    Written on May 4, 2018
    "I thought this book was well written, though it was a bit gritty for me. I know that comes with the territory of the genre, however at parts I thought it was a bit over the top. Overall, though, it was an enjoyable read."
  6. 22

    #9A Season in Carcosa

    A Season in Carcosa

    A Season in Carcosa by Laird Barron and Simon Strantzas is a fantasy fiction and horror novel originally published in 2012. This book contains all new tales to tribute Robert W. Chambers and his works.

    Books

    Check price

    Eduardo Velázquez
    Written on May 14, 2018
    "I always liked the show True Detective. I have become interested in the crime genre. At work I have down time but cannot watch TV so I get books to read. I grabbed the book a Season in Carcosa. t reminded me of True Detective when I was reading it. I love these types of books."
  7. 20

    #10The Imago Sequence and Other Stories

    The Imago Sequence and Other Stories

    The Imago Sequence and Other Stories by Laird Barron is a horror fiction novel originally published in 2017. This book was nominated for Locus Award for Best Collection and World Fantasy Award for Long Fiction.

    Books

    Check price

    Shaurya Pillai
    Written on May 8, 2018
    "never heard of this. the link does make a good review there that makes me interested in it"
  8. 7

    #11On the Heights of Despair

    On the Heights of Despair
    On the Heights of Despair is a non fiction book written by Emil M. Cioran and translated by Ilinca Zarifopol-Johnston. This nonfiction book was published on October 1, 1996 by University of Chicago Press.
    Books

    Check price

    Roberto Godínez
    Written on May 3, 2018
    "Born of a terrible insomnia dizzying lucidity which would turn even paradise into hell"—this book presents the youthful Cioran, a self-described "Nietzsche still complete with his Zarathustra, his poses, his mystical clown's tricks, a whole circus of the heights.""
  9. 0

    #12Sleepyhead

    Sleepyhead

    Sleepyhead is a mystery fiction and suspense-thriller novel written by Mark Billingham. This book was originally published in 2001 by Grove Press. It follows the story of the fictional character of Detective Tom Thorne.

    Books

    Check price

    Brandon Powell
    Written on May 12, 2018
    "Sleepyhead is a good solution for best books similar to HBO's True Detective, because it is amystery fiction and suspense-thriller that is similar to True Detective. "
  10. 0

    #13Lifeless

    Lifeless

    Lifeless is a mystery fiction and suspense-thriller novel written by Mark Billingham. This book was originally published in 2005 by Time Warner. It was nominated for the Barry Award for Best British Crime Novel.

    Books

    Check price

    Jeffrey Mendoza
    Written on May 6, 2018
    "The main character is what glues this book together. He could be a hero or he could be something of a loser. He teeters between the two while solving a mystery that is tricky enough to keep the reader alert without getting lost. The dark side of London is well rendered. "

Summary

Best What are the best books similar to HBO's True Detective
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1No Country for Old MenBooks 36 Paid
2Notes From UndergroundBooks 32 Paid
3The Big SleepBooks 32 Paid
4Heart of DarknessBooks 29 Paid
5The Black DahliaBooks 27 Paid
6The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories Books 26 Paid
7Thus Spoke ZarathustraBooks 25 Paid
8Mystic RiverBooks 22 Paid
9A Season in CarcosaBooks 22 Paid
10The Imago Sequence and Other StoriesBooks 20 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.