What are the best books similar to Sarah Dessen's works?

asked by Anonymous
117 contributors
10 solutions
  1. 21

    #1Thirteen Reasons Why

    Thirteen Reasons Why
    Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher narrates how Clay Jensen learns about the reasons why his classmate, workmate, and crush, Hannah Baker took her own life. Hannah Baker left cassette tapes so Clay and everyone involved could listen and discover why.
    Books

    Check price

    Sandra Carter
    Written on April 16, 2018
    "This book is popular for a reason. It's an astounding insight into the mind of a contemporary teen and what would motivate her to take her own life. Read it with your teenager, and discuss the difficult issues raised in this book."
  2. 17

    #2A Walk to Remember

    A Walk to Remember
    A Walk to Remember is a novel by the well-known romance writer, Nicholas Sparks. It tells the love story of Landon Carter and Jamie Sullivan and was the basis of the famous movie of the same name, starring Shane West and Mandy Moore.
    Books

    Check price

    Irene Villa
    Written on April 19, 2018
    "A Walk to Remember is another novel by the beloved bestselling author Nicholas Sparks. It was adapted to a wonderful movie in 2002 that follows an unlikely couple as they navigate young adulthood."
  3. 15

    #3Looking for Alaska

    Looking for Alaska
    Looking for Alaska is an award-winning young-adult fiction novel by John Green published in 2005. This book follows the story of a boy named Pudge who's obsessed with famous last words and his quirky group of friends. 
    Books

    Check price

    Johnny Stewart
    Written on April 15, 2018
    "Looking for Alaska is a good fiction novel for young adults. I enjoyed reading it myself, as did my teenage son. It has a great setting, and deep, realistic characters that you will really get attached to. In many ways this is a coming of age novel, but has a lot of originality and charm."
  1. 13

    #4Speak

    Speak

    Speak is the multi-award winning novel by Laurie Halse Anderson. It is a harrowing young adult story about rape, post-traumatic stress disorder, and isolation in teens. It was published in 1999 and was adapted to film in 2004.

    Books

    Check price

    Douglas Nichols
    Written on April 14, 2018
    "Speak is a good read for anyone dealing with PTSD. Sarah Dessen's books helped me a lot and this is in the same vein."
  2. 12

    #5If I Stay

    If I Stay
    If I Stay is a young adult fiction book by Gayle Forman that tells the story of Mia, who was the only survivor of a car accident that killed her family. Critically injured, Mia must decide whether to stay and live or follow her family.
    Books

    Check price

    Christine Oliver
    Written on April 29, 2018
    "I have long been a fan of Sarah Dessen's books and love authors with a similar writing style. I recently found Gayle Forman's If I Stay, which was writing in a very similar style. It's a really great book, I highly recommend it."
  3. 11

    #6Anna and the French Kiss

    Anna and the French Kiss

    Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins tells the story of Anna, a high school student in Atlanta who is about to embark on her senior year. She has a great best friend, a cool job, and a budding romance when suddenly her father sends her to boarding school in Paris, where she meets Étienne. He is almost perfect but taken... What will happen? Will she find love in Paris and have a true French kiss, or will she go back to her Atlanta sweetheart? 

    Books

    Check price

    Amber Tian
    Written on April 22, 2018
    "Very romantic book, i like the cover and the author. Has good reviews and the price is pretty decent. I recommend this book, very good and modern. "
  4. 8

    #7Perfect Chemistry

    Perfect Chemistry

    Perfect Chemistry is the first book in a young adult romance series by Simone Elkeles. It tells the story of it-girl Brittany Ellis and gang member Alex Fuentes as they try to reconcile their differences for a chemistry project.

    Books

    Check price

    Joseph May
    Written on April 25, 2018
    "If you're into Sarah Dessen's work like I am, you are going to love Solution: Perfect Chemistry. It's extremely similar in style and the story is just amazing."
  5. 5

    #8The Summer I Turned Pretty

    The Summer I Turned Pretty
    The Summer I Turned Pretty, the first book in Jenny Han's series of the same name, is about the summer when Belly became pretty and it threatened to alter her friendships with Conrad and Jeremiah forever.


    Books

    Check price

    Anna Ray
    Written on April 15, 2018
    "Are you a fan of Sarah Dressen? If so, you should get the book The Summer I Turned Pretty. It is the first book in a series of the same name by Jenny Han. It centers around the main character Belly and her friendships with Conrad and Jeremiah."
  6. 4

    #9Dairy Queen

    Dairy Queen

    Dairy Queen is a young adult football romance novel by Catherin Gilbert Murdock. It tells the story of D.J. Schwenk, who tries to balance her chores at her family's farm, her social life, and her duties at the football team.

    Books

    Check price

    Harry Parker
    Written on April 16, 2018
    "I've been reading Sarah Dessen books for years and wanted to find something similar. Dairy Queen is a great book and very representative of Sarah Dessen's books. I really enjoyed it."
  7. 1

    #10I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls)

    I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls)
    I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You by Ally Carter is a young adult mystery novel set in the Gallagher Academy, which is claimed to be a school for geniuses but is a place for spies in reality.
    Books

    Check price

    Craig Allen
    Written on May 18, 2018
    "Ally Carter is one of the authors that was once recommended to me by my close coworker. She said I should also read this book because I told her that I love books that makes think so hard, so she recommended me this book specifically. Now I have not read the book yet but I already have it with me, by the looks of the reviews to, this is definitely a must read."

Summary

Best What are the best books similar to Sarah Dessen's works
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1Thirteen Reasons WhyBooks 21 Paid
2A Walk to RememberBooks 17 Paid
3Looking for AlaskaBooks 15 Paid
4SpeakBooks 13 Paid
5If I StayBooks 12 Paid
6Anna and the French KissBooks 11 Paid
7Perfect ChemistryBooks 8 Paid
8The Summer I Turned PrettyBooks 5 Paid
9Dairy QueenBooks 4 Paid
10I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls)Books 1 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.