What are the best books to read if you like Downton Abbey?

Downton Abbey's compelling characters and the story is almost akin to getting lost in a good novel and being invested in their lives. In line with that, here are some classic books similar to Downton Abbey that will transport you back to the early 20th century.

167 contributors
11 solutions
  1. 33

    #1Little Women

    Little Women

    Little Women is a classic novel which revolves around the lives of the four March sisters. Their names are Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy. The book just like Downton Abbey is written by Louisa May Alcott and is loosely based on her life story.

    Books

    Check price

    Harry Brooks
    Written on May 12, 2018
    "Little Women gives you view into the earlier era of Victorian life just as Downton Abbey gives you its last days. I remember reading this with my sister when we were young and both of us hanging on every word about the four March sisters. Every literature buff or someone who wants to look into the past should read this enthralling tale. "
  2. 26

    #2Murder on the Orient Express

    Murder on the Orient Express

    Murder on the Orient Express is a crime and detective book that is published by Collins Crime Club and was first released on January 1, 1934. The novel is written by Agatha Christie and revolves around a detective Hercule Poirot.

    Books

    Check price

    Megan Thompson
    Written on May 14, 2018
    "If you like Downton Abbey, Murder on the Orient Express would be the best book for you. It is about Hercule poirot and his three-day journey through Balkan Hills. It revolves around the murders in the Orient Express."
  3. 26

    #3A Room With a View

    A Room With a View

    A Room With a View is a novel set in England and is a book similar to Downton Abbey because the events on the novel occur at the early beginnings of the 20th century. The book is authored by E. M. Forster and was published in 1908.

    Books

    Check price

    Phillip Walsh
    Written on May 4, 2018
    "I'm a huge Downton Abbey fan. After having a discussion with another member of my local book club I was recommended to read this work. This book is right up my alley. It kept me highly engaged in the author does a beautiful job of painting a picture in my head. I felt so close to the main characters. I was actually sad when the book was over I wanted it to keep going. Luckily I found some other work by the same author and I will definitely be reading all of their work that I can."
  1. 22

    #4Birdsong

    Birdsong

    Birdsong is a war novel which was first published on September 16, 1963, and the publisher is Hutchinson. The 407-page family saga is written by Sebastian Faulks and the story follows two protagonists who live at different eras.

    Books

    Check price

    Danielle Little
    Written on May 3, 2018
    "This is a great historical book."
  2. 19

    #5Carry On, Jeeves

    Carry On, Jeeves

    Carry On, Jeeves is a novel with ten short stories written by P. G. Wodehouse and published by Herbert Jenkins and George H. Doran. The stories are rewritten versions from the author's older books.

    Books

    Check price

    Phillip Lee
    Written on May 14, 2018
    "A swell novel about some very interesting characters! I enjoyed this book through and through, quite captivating, and fantastic dialogue. P.G. Wodehouse is an excellent author, one of my new favorites. A friend suggested this because I really like Downton Abbey, and it WAY surpassed my expectations, even if you are not a Downton Abbey fan, you may like this book, and if you are, even better! "
  3. 10

    #6The House of Mirth

    The House of Mirth

    The House of Mirth is a classic fiction book written by Edith Wharton with an introduction by Nina Bawden. With over 300 pages, this book is published in 2006 by Virago.

    Books

    Check price

    Brandon Garcia
    Written on May 9, 2018
    "Am so sorry but I don't like downtown Abbey and neither did I like this. I have never been fond of books set in this period expect for pride and prejudice by Jane Austen, I could watch and read that book so many times and be intrigued ever time."
  4. 7

    #7The Help

    The Help
    The Help is a historical fiction novel by Kathryn Stockett. Set in the American South during the 1960s, it tells the stories of an unlikely group of three women working together to fight racial oppression.
    Books

    Check price

    Russell Lee
    Written on May 11, 2018
    "I read this book in college when we were studying Greek mythology. This book was such an eye opener and made me like the class so much that I was motivated to discover more about the topic. Definitely recommend it. "
  5. 5

    #8Howards End

    Howards End
    Howards End is a historical fiction with political themes for young adults and adults written by renowned author E.M. Forster. It was first released in 1910 and was internationally praised as an iconic illustration of Victorian England.
    Books

    Check price

    Allen Ye
    Written on May 14, 2018
    "My mom kept talking about how much she liked this book. When I took a look, I figured out why; she loves, absolutely loves, period pieces from past history. Especially if they have a lot of society plots twisting through them. This book tracks an upper class family struggling to navigate complicated politics in England; while a lower class family struggles to just survive the decisions these rich people make that affect millions of others. It's a decent read, but the language is kind of dry sometimes; not surprising since it's over a hundred years old."
  6. 4

    #9The Secret Life of Bees

    The Secret Life of Bees

    The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd depicts loss and betrayal. This book was a New York Times bestseller and has won the 2004 Book Sense Book of the Year Awards. In 2008, this novel was turned into a movie.

    Books

    Check price

    There are no comments yet!

    Share your opinion
  7. 3

    #10The Importance of Being Earnest

    The Importance of Being Earnest

    The Importance of Being Earnest is a satirical play by Oscar Wilde. It tells the story of John Worthing, who pretends to have a brother named Earnest as part of an alter ego, and AlgernonMoncrieff, who pretends to be Earnest.

    Books

    Check price

    Brenda Williams
    Written on May 10, 2018
    "Classic literature. I have taken a liking to the older books after I started watching Downtown Abby. This one is one of the better books I have read. I definitely recommend this one to anyone looking for some excellent writing."
  8. 1

    #11The Portrait of a Lady

    The Portrait of a Lady
    The Portrait of a Lady is a historical mystery drama written by Henry James. It was first released in 2003. It is about an American lady who was brought to Europe and tried to fight the destiny set for her.
    Books

    Check price

    Catherine Hayes
    Written on May 4, 2018
    "This is a great book if you like historical fiction. The story was very interesting. It also involves multiple countries which is even better for learning about the past."

Summary

Best What are the best books to read if you like Downton Abbey
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1Little WomenBooks 33 Paid
2Murder on the Orient ExpressBooks 26 Paid
3A Room With a ViewBooks 26 Paid
4BirdsongBooks 22 Paid
5Carry On, Jeeves Books 19 Paid
6The House of MirthBooks 10 Paid
7The HelpBooks 7 Paid
8Howards EndBooks 5 Paid
9The Secret Life of BeesBooks 4 Paid
10The Importance of Being EarnestBooks 3 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.