What are the best books to read if you like John Green?

asked by Anonymous
291 contributors
12 solutions
  1. 37

    #1The Perks of Being a Wallflower

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a book by Stephen Chbosky that tells the story of Charlie. The book revolves around Charlie's writings in his diary. His struggle as a unique teen, trying to live his life happily. 

    Books

    Check price

    Billy Gray
    Written on May 2, 2018
    "This is a great book to great if you like John Green. If you haven't read it yet and you him it you should check it out."
  2. 32

    #2The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is an award-winning young adult novel by Sherman Alexie. It tells the story of Junior, a Spokane Indian who left the reservation to go to an all-white high school.


    Books

    Check price

    Alexander Wade
    Written on April 22, 2018
    "The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is an award-winning young adult novel by Sherman Alexie. i liked the book much it is awesome"
  3. 32

    #3Me Before You

    Me Before You

    Jojo Moyes' heartbreaking romance novel Me Before You tells the story of Louisa Clark and Will Traynor, who lives his days confined to a wheelchair. This book urges everyone to live their one life to the fullest.

    Books

    Check price

    Jose Jordan
    Written on April 25, 2018
    "This is definitely one of the most popular books from the said author that maybe millions have already read, especially the movie adaptation of it. If you are looking are trying to get into the work of John Green, this one is hard to miss."
  1. 30

    #4Boy Meets Boy

    Boy Meets Boy

    Boy Meets Boy is a 2003 young adult novel by David Leviathan. It follows the life of Paul, a gay teenage boy and his group of quirky, LGBT friends as they traverse the perils of young love in LGBT-friendly New Jersey.

    Books

    Check price

    David Hernandez
    Written on April 1, 2018
    " If you like young adult romance novels I think you'll like this one as well. It's a unique story as well, not your usual kind, it features a diverse cast of characters and a good narrative as well. I enjoyed it myself, it isn't usually the kind of genre I'm into personally, but I still enjoyed the book!"
  2. 28

    #5Anna and the French Kiss

    Anna and the French Kiss

    Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins tells the story of Anna, a high school student in Atlanta who is about to embark on her senior year. She has a great best friend, a cool job, and a budding romance when suddenly her father sends her to boarding school in Paris, where she meets Étienne. He is almost perfect but taken... What will happen? Will she find love in Paris and have a true French kiss, or will she go back to her Atlanta sweetheart? 

    Books

    Check price

    Cheryl White
    Written on April 17, 2018
    "d nothing but rave reviews about Stephanie Perkins but have never read any of her stories. I picked up this one and all I can say is, wow! She can sure suck you right into a story. Before long I found myself laughing and crying along with the characters. You will experience every twist and turn and you’ll love the emotional journey it will take you on. If you re a fan of love, give this one a try and you will not be disappointed. I’ve already ordered the rest of the books in her collection!"
  3. 27

    #6Dash & Lily's Book of Dares

    Dash & Lily's Book of Dares

    From the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Dash & Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan tells the story of a young girl named Lily who left a notebook with challenges written on it, in hopes of finding a guy to accept these challenges.

    Books

    Check price

    Gerald Perry
    Written on April 5, 2018
    "John Green's books typically fall under the romance category, and Dash & Lily's Book of Dares does so as well. With a decent critical response, this novel follows the romance of two teenagers through a sort of "book hunt". Probably not the best if you're looking for something similar to John Green, but you could do a lot worse too."
  4. 25

    #7Fangirl

    Fangirl

    Fangirl is Rainbow Rowell's novel narrating the life of Cath, an avid Simon Snow fan who was struggling to let go of her fandom but had to learn to grow up and face the harsh realities of her adolescent life.

    Books

    Check price

    Sean Brooks
    Written on April 25, 2018
    "This isn't a very good recommendation for books to read if you like John Green. While the topic is somewhat similar to the some of the ones that John Green has written, the writing style and point of view are incredibly different."
  5. 23

    #8It's Kind of a Funny Story

    It's Kind of a Funny Story

    It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini is published in 2007. In 2010, it was adapted into a film with the same title. It tells the story of a suicidal teenage guy who gets into a mental hospital wherein he learns stories of other people.

    Books

    Check price

    Helen Lee
    Written on May 5, 2018
    "I found this hard to read but a bit rewarding. It helped me deal with my niece who had some depression problems. I was able to understand her better and that helped her a lot."
  6. 20

    #9Thirteen Reasons Why

    Thirteen Reasons Why
    Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher narrates how Clay Jensen learns about the reasons why his classmate, workmate, and crush, Hannah Baker took her own life. Hannah Baker left cassette tapes so Clay and everyone involved could listen and discover why.
    Books

    Check price

    Katherine Meyer
    Written on April 11, 2018
    "If you like John Green's tragic teen stories, then you'll probably enjoy 13 Reasons Why. It can be too dark for some, as it deals with teen suicide, but I feel the message of how our small actions can affect others greatly comes through. I hope all who read it will come away wanting to be kind always because we never know what someone else may be going through. "
  7. 14

    #10I'll Give You the Sun

    I'll Give You the Sun
    I'll Give You the Sun is a fiction novel written by Jandy Nelson about two inseparable twins, Jude and Noahand. It was published April2, 2015 by Walker Books.
    Books

    Check price

    Keith Reyes
    Written on April 25, 2018
    "I'll Give You the Sun is a well written, imaginative, sophisticated book full of image evoking detail. The characters are well developed through their relationships with others and their passion for the visual arts. At its essence, the book is about inseparable twins separated by the loves they find in their lives and where that leaves them in life."
  8. 10

    #1113 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelopes)

    13 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelopes)

    13 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelopes) is a fictional young adult romance book written by Maureen Johnson. This fictional romance novel was published on December 21, 2010 by HarperTeen.

    Books

    Check price

    Mildred Flores
    Written on May 14, 2018
    "I liked this book because of the adventure the young girl is lead on by her deceased Aunt. She is provided envelopes of things to do one by one and there are conditions to each adventure she takes making it quite interesting overall. There were things I didn't understand but it only made me want to read it more so I could see if perhaps it would be explained later on in the story. I like stories of adventure, wrapped in wisdom. They keep you engaged for hours and this book didn't disappoint in that regard. "
  9. 1

    #12Eleanor & Park

    Eleanor & Park

    Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell is a romance novel originally published in 2012. This book won the Publishers Weekly Best Children's Book of 2013 and Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Best Fiction Book in 2014.

    Books

    Check price

    William Ward
    Written on May 2, 2018
    "a well paced and well earned romance novel for the ages, yo should read it as soon as possible "

Summary

Best What are the best books to read if you like John Green
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1The Perks of Being a WallflowerBooks 37 Paid
2The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time IndianBooks 32 Paid
3Me Before YouBooks 32 Paid
4Boy Meets BoyBooks 30 Paid
5Anna and the French KissBooks 28 Paid
6Dash & Lily's Book of DaresBooks 27 Paid
7FangirlBooks 25 Paid
8It's Kind of a Funny StoryBooks 23 Paid
9Thirteen Reasons WhyBooks 20 Paid
10I'll Give You the SunBooks 14 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.