What are the best books to read if you like Mass Effect?

asked by Anonymous
478 contributors
15 solutions
  1. 55

    #1The Left Hand of Darkness (Hainish Cycle)

    The Left Hand of Darkness (Hainish Cycle)

    The Left Hand of Darkness, the 4th book in Ursula K. Le Guin's Hainish Cycle series, is about a human ambassador sent to the planet Winter, where there is no sexual prejudice and inhabitants can change gender anytime.

    Books

    Check price

    Christopher Jimenez
    Written on April 24, 2018
    "It isn't that great as critics say it is. I read it after reading about the critical acclaim it received, but this book was not for the average reader, I guess. I didn't like it at all; it was not like the ones about a dystopian society in near future (the kind of stuff that I enjoy). This book is similar to movies that win the academy award for best picture which is enjoyed and hailed by critics but rejected by the general public."
  2. 46

    #2The Ringworld Engineers (Ringworld)

    The Ringworld Engineers (Ringworld)

    The Ringworld Engineers is the second book in the science fiction series Ringworld written by Larry Niven which continues the adventure of Louis Wu. 

    Books

    Check price

    Ai Feng
    Written on April 28, 2018
    "I'm a long time Science Fiction and Fantasy fan, and I like to think that I have read most of "the greats", like Asimov, Heinlein, Clarke, and so on. For some reason, I never got around to reading Larry Niven. I had heart great things about his writing, but never picked up one of his books until a few weeks ago. Man! Am I glad that I did! I grabbed a copy of "The Ringworld Engineers", and I love it! It's a different spin from classic Sci-Fi, and if you like strange planets and even stranger aliens, you are in for a treat. It's a sequel to other books in the Ringworld series, which I didn't realize when I bought it, but I didn't have too much of an issue figuring out who was who and what was going on. IF you haven't checked out this classic series yet, grab a copy! You'll thank yourself."
  3. 45

    #3The Temporal Void

    The Temporal Void

    The Temporal Void is a space opera and science fiction novel written by Peter F. Hamilton. This book was originally published in September 2008. It was preceded by The Dreaming Void.

    Books

    Check price

    Nicolás Alonso
    Written on April 26, 2018
    "This is pretty much a sequel to another book, which takes place roughly a thousand years later. While you don't need to read its prequel, I'd definitely tell you to. The books are written with similar passion, pacing, skill and so on. So if you like the first in the series then you'll love this."
  1. 40

    #4The Icarus Hunt

    The Icarus Hunt

    The Icarus Hunt is a science fiction novel written by award-winning author Timothy Zahn. This book was first published in August 1999 by Bantam Spectra. It follows the story of a space pilot and respectable soldier - Jordan McKell.

    Books

    Check price

    Lisa Richards
    Written on May 9, 2018
    "If you like Mass Effect, you will probably enjoy this book. It's not a first person shooter, but it is more science fiction type novel. It is more of a mystery set in a science fiction world. I was very surprised while reading this and it definetly didn't leave room for any guessing. The ship was also pretty cool, I recommend this to anyone."
  2. 37

    #5Ender's Game (The Ender Quintet)

    Ender's Game (The Ender Quintet)
    Ender's Game is the first book in The Ender Quintet series by Orson Scott Card which has won the Hugo and Nebula awards. This science fiction novel centers on Ender being trained in military and combat to prepare against an alien attack. 
    Books

    Check price

    Sara Zepeda
    Written on April 17, 2018
    "Enders Game is a classic and is a must read for any science fiction fan. I would especially recommend it if you're a fan of video games like Mass Effect. Sometimes it gets a little technical if you're not into really sciencey stuff but it doesn't take away from this being one of the best books for scifi fans. "
  3. 36

    #6Consider Phlebas

    Consider Phlebas

    Consider Phlebas is the first book in the futuristic, comedic, science fiction series for young adults written by Iain M. Banks. It was first published in March 2008. It is about a future where Faith and Culture fight for supremacy.

    Books

    Check price

    Stephanie Snyder
    Written on April 23, 2018
    "Consider Phlebas is a futuristic, comedic, science fiction series for young adults. It is about a future where faith and culture fight for supremacy. Phlebas is a space opera of stunning power and awesome imagination, from a modern master of science fiction. This book is well written and very engaging for any audience. "
  4. 33

    #7Ready Player One

    Ready Player One

    Ready Player One is a science fiction and dystopian novel by Ernest Cline published in 2011. It is about Wade Watts' search for an Easter egg hidden inside a virtual reality game world. It has a film adaptation directed by Steven Spielberg.

    Books

    Check price

    Anthony Carroll
    Written on May 6, 2018
    "Ready Player One is a tale set far into the future, when mankind lives in an oasis of sorts, with little social interactivity, and instead opts to connect via a virtual world of gaming. The world is imagined with vivid detail and the characters are set in unique settings to bring to like a rich world of pop culture and captivating action scenarios."
  5. 30

    #8The Ghost Brigades (Old Man's War)

    The Ghost Brigades (Old Man's War)

    The Ghost Brigades by John Scalzi is a science fiction novel and the second book for his Old Man's War series. This book tells the story of the members of the Colonial Defense Forces and their superhuman abilities.

    Books

    Check price

    Rodrigo Rocha
    Written on April 16, 2018
    "Mass Effect is a science fiction game. This is a great science fiction book. I think they have a lot of similarities. "
  6. 30

    #9Pandora's Star (The Commonwealth Saga)

    Pandora's Star (The Commonwealth Saga)

    Pandora's Heart by Peter F. Hamilton is a science fiction novel and the second book to his The Commonwealth Saga. Set in the year 2380, The Intersolar Commonwealth is about to face a great danger that lies ahead of them.

    Books

    Check price

    Jane Chapman
    Written on April 25, 2018
    "It's an interesting sci-fi book. But it can be too detailed/dense and long winded at times. It takes away from the story. "
  7. 26

    #10Horus Rising (The Horus Heresy)

    Horus Rising (The Horus Heresy)

    Horus Rising is the first book in the Horus Heresy series. The young adult, science fiction book is written by Dan Abnett and was first published in April 2006. It is about Horus, a Warmaster who replaces the retiring Emperor.

    Books

    Check price

    Shreyas Jhadav
    Written on April 30, 2018
    "horor story book"
  8. 25

    #11Starship Troopers

    Starship Troopers
    In 5000 humanity will face the total extermination and our only chance to survive is a highly-trained soldiers called the Star Ship Troopers. That's the story of Jonny Rico, an idealistic trooper from the infantry. 
    Books

    Check price

    Evelyn Weber
    Written on April 26, 2018
    "This is an interesting fiction book, that describes an interesting story with unique characters.I suggest reading this book during vacations, and i am sure that you will have a very good time with it, like i did. "
  9. 24

    #12Chasm City (Revelation Space)

    Chasm City (Revelation Space)

    Chasm City by Alastair Reynolds is a science fiction novel originally published in 2001. This book belongs to Reynolds' Revelation Space series. It is preceded by Revelation Space, The Prefect, and followed by Absolution Gap.

    Books

    Check price

    Johnny Brooks
    Written on April 29, 2018
    "Coming from a gamer's perspective I really enjoyed this book. I noticed a lot of parallels to my favorite game ever , made effect. I have a hard time staying focused while reading but the author did a great job of keeping my attention. Very well written."
  10. 20

    #13The Abyss Surrounds Us

    The Abyss Surrounds Us
    The Abyss Surrounds Us is a science fiction novel by Emily Strutskie. Set in the distant future, it tells the story of Cassandra Leung, a Reckoner who must bow to the demands of the pirate queen, Santa Elena.
    Books

    Check price

    Miguel Ángel Saldaña
    Written on April 24, 2018
    "This science fiction novel delivers many scientifical efforts on mysteries. "
  11. 13

    #14Grimspace (Sirantha Jax)

    Grimspace (Sirantha Jax)

    Grimspace (Sirantha Jax Book 1) is a science fiction novel written by Ann Aguirre. Originally published in 2008, it focuses on Sirantha Jax, a human with a genetic anomaly that allows her to jump ships through grimspace.

    Books

    Check price

    Amalia Escobedo
    Written on April 29, 2018
    "I think this book isn't to far off from the game series so I'm going to say this solution is pretty good. I like that it offers a similar setting and all of that so I think overall a nice job was done here when looking for this."
  12. 3

    #15The Dreaming Void

    The Dreaming Void

    The Dreaming Void is a space opera and science fiction novel written by Peter F. Hamilton. This book was originally published in 2007. It was followed by Judas Unchained in the following year. It is the first book in The Void trilogy.

    Books

    Check price

    Johnny Ruiz
    Written on May 3, 2018
    "I found the "Dreaming Void" to be a woken nightmare because I could not stay focus reading this futuristic novel. I got the impression that this book was developed heavily by using Star Trek which made it more predictable. Maybe if the book had more generalized excitement, it would have been better. "

Summary

Best What are the best books to read if you like Mass Effect
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1The Left Hand of Darkness (Hainish Cycle)Books 55 Paid
2The Ringworld Engineers (Ringworld)Books 46 Paid
3The Temporal VoidBooks 45 Paid
4The Icarus HuntBooks 40 Paid
5Ender's Game (The Ender Quintet)Books 37 Paid
6Consider PhlebasBooks 36 Paid
7Ready Player OneBooks 33 Paid
8The Ghost Brigades (Old Man's War)Books 30 Paid
9Pandora's Star (The Commonwealth Saga)Books 30 Paid
10Horus Rising (The Horus Heresy)Books 26 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.