What are the best books to read if you like Rob Bell?

asked by Anonymous
282 contributors
10 solutions
  1. 40

    #1Benefit of the Doubt

    Benefit of the Doubt
    Benefit of the Doubt: Breaking the Idol of Certainty is a study and critique book written by renowned theologist author Gregory Boyd. It is about trying to make a connection with the divine despite having questions with the Scripture.
    Books

    Check price

    Ernesto Rojas
    Written on May 18, 2018
    "As somebody who loves Rob Bell, I am always looking for books that are about this individual. With Benefit of the Doubt, I was able to get a deeper connection with the divine and with the Scripture due to the careful analysis done by Gregory Boyd. This analysis gives me greater respect for Bell's sermons."
  2. 36

    #2Satan and the Problem of Evil

    Satan and the Problem of Evil

    Satan and the Problem of Evil: Constructing a Trinitarian Warfare Theodicy is a book written by theologist author Gregory Boyd. It was released 2001. It is about trying to shed a new light on the origin of evil.

    Books

    Check price

    Patrick Walker
    Written on May 18, 2018
    "Satan and the Problem of Evil is one fascinating book that focuses on the origin of evil. The author is not Rob Bell, but many believe it is similar to books of Bells. "
  3. 33

    #3Searching for Sunday

    Searching for Sunday
    Searching for Sunday: Loving, Leaving, and Finding the Church is a compilation of stories written by New York Times bestselling author Rachel Held Evans. It was released in 2005. It is about the impact of the seven holy Catholic sacraments.

    Books

    Check price

    Arthur Ward
    Written on May 13, 2018
    "A lovely sweet look at life"
  1. 31

    #4In the Name of Jesus

    In the Name of Jesus

    In the Name of Jesus: Reflections on Christian Leadership is a guidebook written by preacher Henri J.M. Nouwen. It was released in October 1992. It is about the meaning and significance of leadership in the Christian ministry.

    Books

    Check price

    Mariana Barajas
    Written on May 10, 2018
    "This is a great book."
  2. 30

    #5The Skeptical Believer

    The Skeptical Believer

    The Skeptical Believer: Telling Stories to Your Inner Atheist is a guidebook written by Daniel Taylor. It was published in 2013. It is about dealing with the inner skeptic of even the most devout of Christians.

    Books

    Check price

    Stephanie Snyder
    Written on May 15, 2018
    "I am not atheist, nor will I ever be. I believe in the Lord and will serve him until I am called home. I truly believe everyone has the right to learn about God, but they do have to keep am open mind. I do not think that you should come to know God thru a book, unless you are picking up your Bible."
  3. 26

    #6Sacred Word, Broken Word

    Sacred Word, Broken Word
    Sacred Word, Broken Word: Biblical Authority and the Dark Side of Scripture is a critique book written by Kenton L. Sparks. It was published in April 2012. It is about the dark side of the Bible that signifies the importance of believing in Christ.
    Books

    Check price

    Olivia Hudson
    Written on May 9, 2018
    "If you enjoyed Rob Bell as a pastor then I highly recommend you stay away from Sacred Word, Broken Word by Kenton L. Sparks. This critique book is dull and boring and poorly written. The interpretations it gives on certain scripture passages as so far out there it would be difficult for anyone to relate to!"
  4. 25

    #7If the Church Were Christian

    If the Church Were Christian

    If the Church Were Christian: Rediscovering the Values of Jesus is a book written by Quaker minister Philip Gulley. It was released in February 2010. It is about building bridges between churches of Christ.

    Books

    Check price

    Julia Montoya
    Written on May 8, 2018
    "Interesting read. I think the author's heart was in the right place. I don't agree with everything as it is a lot of opinion and not based on the bible. However lots of books like this are more about feeling than sound doctrine. "
  5. 24

    #8Rescuing the Bible from Fundamentalism

    Rescuing the Bible from Fundamentalism

    Rescuing the Bible from Fundamentalism: A Bishop Rethinks the Meaning of Scripture is a book written by Bishop John Shelby Spong. It has works, questions, reflections, and summaries designed for group and individual use.

    Books

    Check price

    Christina Han
    Written on May 9, 2018
    "Really interesting book, particularly since it's a bishop contemplating fundamentalism (which I normally associate with baptists). It's well written and while I don't agree with all his points, it certainly gave me plenty to think about."
  6. 20

    #9God at War

    God at War

    God at War: The Bible & Spiritual Conflict is a study and critique book written by Gregory Boyd. It was released in 1997. It is about the differences of ideologies of the New Testament writers and modern theologians.

    Books

    Check price

    Doris Schmidt
    Written on May 8, 2018
    "I was searching for the topic of best books to read if you like Rob Bell and found the solution of the book "God at War". I had to google Rob Bell to see who he is and this book looks like it's in the same vein as what he stands for. This would be a great solution. "
  7. 7

    #10Reading the Bible Again For the First Time

    Reading the Bible Again For the First Time

    Reading the Bible Again For the First Time: Taking the Bible Seriously But Not Literally is a religious theological nonfiction book written by Marcus J. Borg. With over 300 pages, this book is published in 2015 by HarperOne.

    Books

    Check price

    Marisol Arenas
    Written on May 16, 2018
    "Reading the Bible Again For the First Time is well worth the read. If you are interested in Rob Bell, you will really enjoy this book and should give it a try. "

Summary

Best What are the best books to read if you like Rob Bell
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1Benefit of the DoubtBooks 40 Paid
2Satan and the Problem of EvilBooks 36 Paid
3Searching for SundayBooks 33 Paid
4In the Name of JesusBooks 31 Paid
5The Skeptical BelieverBooks 30 Paid
6Sacred Word, Broken WordBooks 26 Paid
7If the Church Were ChristianBooks 25 Paid
8Rescuing the Bible from FundamentalismBooks 24 Paid
9God at WarBooks 20 Paid
10Reading the Bible Again For the First TimeBooks 7 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.