What are the best books to read if you like The Other Boleyn Girl?

asked by Anonymous
172 contributors
12 solutions
  1. 23

    #1The Last Tudor

    The Last Tudor

    The Last Tudor is a historical novel for young adults written by renowned author Philippa Gregory. It was released on August 7, 2017. It is about the life of Queen Jane Grey.

    Books

    Check price

    Zhang Wan
    Written on May 7, 2018
    "My teenage son had read The Other Boleyn Girl a couple months ago and really loved the book. So my local book store manager recommended that he read The Last Tudor which is written by Philippa Gregory. It's a historical novel about the life of Queen Jane Grey."
  2. 22

    #2The Innocent (The Anne Trilogy)

    The Innocent (The Anne Trilogy)

    The Innocent is the first book in the thrilling historical series for young adults written Posie Graeme-Evans. It was originally published in June 2005. It is set in the time of the War of the Roses.

    Books

    Check price

    Gregory Hart
    Written on May 15, 2018
    "The Innocent (The Anne Trilogy) is one of the best books to read if you like The Other Boleyn Girl. This is one I couldn't put down and I really liked the historical aspect. The setting allowed me to fully engage with the story which was quite well written. I'll be sure to read the rest of the series by this talented author!"
  3. 21

    #3Anne Boleyn, a King's Obsession (Six Tudor Queens)

    Anne Boleyn, a King's Obsession (Six Tudor Queens)

    Anne Boleyn, a King's Obsession is the second book in the thrilling suspense historical series for young adults written by Alison Weir. It was originally released in May 2017.

    Books

    Check price

    Ralph Douglas
    Written on May 3, 2018
    "This book is a sequel. It is one of the best sequels that I've read. It really is a thrilling one to read."
  1. 18

    #4Henry VIII: The King and His Court

    Henry VIII: The King and His Court

    Henry VIII is a book by Alison Weir that tells the story of Henry VIII. This book is the story of his life and how his intelligent brought him to be the King. The is a detailed book that will enlighten readers. 

    Books

    Check price

    Carolyn Perkins
    Written on May 10, 2018
    "Henry VIII: The King and His Court is a great choice if you like books like The Other Boleyn Girl. This book takes a deep dive into the history of kings and queens. "
  2. 18

    #5In the Shadow of Lady Jane

    In the Shadow of Lady Jane
    In the Shadow of Lady Jane is a historical fiction book written by Edward Charles. This fictional book was published on November 1, 2008 by Pan Macmillan.
    Books

    Check price

    Douglas Jimenez
    Written on May 18, 2018
    "Not very good storytelling here. Feels pretty derivitive. Lots of directions the author could have taken the story but ended up telling it in a flat and boring way. "
  3. 14

    #6The Secret Diary of Anne Boleyn

    The Secret Diary of Anne Boleyn

    The Secret Diary of Anne Boleyn by Robin Maxwell is a re-creation of Anne Boleyn's tragic life and death. It's a reimagined portrayal of the life of Anne Boleyn that's filled with lust, betrayal, love, and murder.

    Books

    Check price

    Phillip Davidson
    Written on May 6, 2018
    "The Secret Diary of Anne Boleyn is a book that i recommend if you are interested in The Other Boleyn Girl. The story is very well written and will have you on the tip of your toes."
  4. 12

    #7Jane Boleyn

    Jane Boleyn

    Jane Boleyn: The True Story of the Infamous Lady Rochford is a historical novel for young adults written by Julia Fox. It was originally published in December 2007.

    Books

    Check price

    Brandon Mills
    Written on May 12, 2018
    "If you you like The Other Boleyn Girl, then you might like Jane Boleyn: The True Story of the Infamous Lady Rochford by Julia Fox. Jane Boleyn was thrusted from relative obscurity to the inner circle of King Henry VIII into a life of bold and dangerous drama. It is definitely a captivating story."
  5. 12

    #8The Sunne in Splendour

    The Sunne in Splendour

    The Sunne in Splendour: A Novel of Richard III is a historical fiction novel for young adult written by Sharon Kay Penman. It was first released in January 2008. It is about the controversial monarch and his alleged murder of his royal nephews.

    Books

    Check price

    Peter Robinson
    Written on May 10, 2018
    "The Sunne in Splendour is a great book which I find similar to The Other Boleyn Girl which I also enjoyed. It is a dark story about how the monarch allegedly murdered his royal nephews. Highly recommended to anyone who is a fan of historical fiction! "
  6. 9

    #9Ross Poldark (The Poldark Saga)

    Ross Poldark (The Poldark Saga)
    Ross Poldark by Winston Graham classic romance book. The story started from the protagonist's joyful homecoming from a bloody war in America only to find out miserable things when he was not around in his place.
    Books

    Check price

    Jane Robertson
    Written on May 12, 2018
    "Love the book, as I love reading of events occurring in historical times."
  7. 6

    #10Innocent Traitor: A Novel of Lady Jane Grey

    Innocent Traitor: A Novel of Lady Jane Grey
    I am now a condemned traitor . . . I am to die when I have hardly begun to live.

    Historical expertise marries page-turning fiction in Alison Weir’s enthralling debut novel, breathing new life into one of the most significant and tumultuous periods of the English monarchy. It is the story of Lady Jane Grey–“the Nine Days’ Queen”–a fifteen-year-old girl who unwittingly finds herself at the center of the religious and civil unrest that nearly toppled the fabled House of Tudor during the sixteenth century.

    The child of a scheming father and a ruthless mother, for whom she is merely a pawn in a dynastic game with the highest stakes, Jane Grey was born during the harrowingly turbulent period between Anne Boleyn’s beheading and the demise of Jane’s infamous great-uncle, King Henry VIII. With the premature passing of Jane’s adolescent cousin, and Henry’s successor, King Edward VI, comes a struggle for supremacy fueled by political machinations and lethal religious fervor.

    Unabashedly honest and exceptionally intelligent, Jane possesses a sound strength of character beyond her years that equips her to weather the vicious storm. And though she has no ambitions to rule, preferring to immerse herself in books and religious studies, she is forced to accept the crown, and by so doing sets off a firestorm of intrigue, betrayal, and tragedy.

    Alison Weir uses her unmatched skills as a historian to enliven the many dynamic characters of this majestic drama. Along with Lady Jane Grey, Weir vividly renders her devious parents; her much-loved nanny; the benevolent Queen Katherine Parr; Jane’s ambitious cousins; the Catholic “Bloody” Mary, who will stop at nothing to seize the throne; and the protestant and future queen Elizabeth. Readers venture inside royal drawing rooms and bedchambers to witness the power-grabbing that swirls around Lady Jane Grey from the day of her birth to her unbearably poignant death. Innocent Traitor paints a complete and compelling portrait of this captivating young woman, a faithful servant of God whose short reign and brief life would make her a legend.

    “An impressive debut. Weir shows skill at plotting and maintaining tension, and she is clearly going to be a major player in the . . . historical fiction game.”
    –The Independent

    “Alison Weir is one of our greatest popular historians. In her first work of fiction . . . Weir manages her heroine’s voice brilliantly, respecting the past’s distance while conjuring a dignified and fiercely modern spirit.”
    –London Daily Mail
    Books

    Check price

    Laura Webb
    Written on May 10, 2018
    "I loved The Other Boleyn Girl and so this book was a treasure to read. Very similar in era that the story takes place, and style, the reader is catapulted back in time when King Henry the VIII was busying running England and bedding young ladies of the court. It accounts for the life of Lady Jane Grey and how she got caught up in a royal scandal. Very good read. However, the various changing narratives can be confusing. "
  8. 4

    #11The White Queen (The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels)

    The White Queen (The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels)

    The White Queen is a historical fiction and the second book in The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels series written by Philippa Gregory. It is published in 2009 by Touchstone Books. 

    Books

    Check price

    Jason Welch
    Written on May 12, 2018
    "I love books that are based on historical events but are still fictional. Reading about Elizabeth was great and made me even more interesting in reading the other books. I had no idea she did so much. Now I just have to figure out which things were fictional and which were real."
  9. 1

    #12Into the Wilderness (Wilderness)

    Into the Wilderness (Wilderness)

    Into the Wilderness is the first book in the historical romance series Wilderness written by Sara Donati which centers on the love story between Elizabeth Middleton and Nathanial Booner.

    Books

    Check price

    Janice Barnes
    Written on May 5, 2018
    "This is a historical romance, but doesn't remind me of The Other Boleyn Girl. I think more of royals when I think of that."

Summary

Best What are the best books to read if you like The Other Boleyn Girl
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1The Last TudorBooks 23 Paid
2The Innocent (The Anne Trilogy)Books 22 Paid
3Anne Boleyn, a King's Obsession (Six Tudor Queens)Books 21 Paid
4Henry VIII: The King and His CourtBooks 18 Paid
5In the Shadow of Lady JaneBooks 18 Paid
6The Secret Diary of Anne BoleynBooks 14 Paid
7Jane BoleynBooks 12 Paid
8The Sunne in SplendourBooks 12 Paid
9Ross Poldark (The Poldark Saga)Books 9 Paid
10Innocent Traitor: A Novel of Lady Jane GreyBooks 6 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.