What are the best books to read if you liked To Kill a Mockingbird?

asked by Anonymous
323 contributors
9 solutions
  1. 45

    #1I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

    I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

    I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou captures the longing of lonely children, the brute insult of bigotry, and the wonder of words. This memoir is a modern classic that will touch hearts and change minds.

    Books

    Check price

    Samuel Mason
    Written on April 14, 2018
    "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings tells a story of bigotry. I don't know if it is really reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird"
  2. 41

    #2A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is a classic coming-of-age book by Betty Smith that tells the story of a girl named Francie Nolan and her poverty-stricken family as they struggle to survive in early 20th century Brooklyn, New York.
    Books

    Check price

    Christine Fernandez
    Written on April 3, 2018
    "If you liked "To Kill a Mockingbird" I would recommend this book. They are set in different, but similar, time periods (if that makes sense) and it follows the story of a girl and her family like Scout and her family. "
  3. 40

    #3Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

    Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry
    During the Great Depression in Mississippi, this story talks about the struggle of a family to maintain pride, independence and integrity against the racism and social inequity. 
    Books

    Check price

    Frank Scott
    Written on April 28, 2018
    "The setting of this novel should be greatly appealing to fans of To Kill A Mockingbird. The setting and content will seem immediately familiar, but still very fresh. This award winning young adult novel is a refreshingly mature and riveting story that a wide audience will enjoy. Highly recommended to any young reader, and fans of To Kill A Mockingbird in particular."
  1. 38

    #4The Help

    The Help
    The Help is a historical fiction novel by Kathryn Stockett. Set in the American South during the 1960s, it tells the stories of an unlikely group of three women working together to fight racial oppression.
    Books

    Check price

    Christian Allen
    Written on April 13, 2018
    "One of the best books I've read in years. The whole way through it keeps you engaged. I had trouble putting it down. Having just finished this I'm going to look up more work by this author because this gem truly deserves the praise it's received. If time period pieces set in the 1960s America draws your interest you will love this book. While a fiction it's certainly believable."
  2. 36

    #5Invisible Man

    Invisible Man

    This book narrates the life of a nameless black man living in the US, how hard it was for him to grow up in a racist town in the South, and how he eventually became leader of the community in New York.

    Books

    Check price

    Johnny Weber
    Written on April 21, 2018
    "One thing that has united the generations since it was written has been Harper Lee's classic TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD. But what to point your curious child to next in order to deepen their understanding of the roots of today's racial issues? Another classic, of course! The literary style here will be challenging, but will also broaden their minds not just to the subject matter but also to the imaginative qualities of literature."
  3. 35

    #6The Secret Life of Bees

    The Secret Life of Bees

    The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd depicts loss and betrayal. This book was a New York Times bestseller and has won the 2004 Book Sense Book of the Year Awards. In 2008, this novel was turned into a movie.

    Books

    Check price

    Ashley Curtis
    Written on May 2, 2018
    "The Secret Life of Bees is a good book for anyone who enjoyed To Kill a Mockingbird. The book is also set in the south during a controversial time in our history and the similarities don't end there. Both books are great for giving the reader a fresh perspective on an issue that should have been long ago laid to rest. "
  4. 32

    #7The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
    The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is a classic American novel by Mark Twain. Published in 1884, it tells the story of a naughty boy settled in the Mississippi Valley. Full of humor it's also considered a deep and complex work.
    Books

    Check price

    Linda Carpenter
    Written on April 23, 2018
    "This Mark Twain masterpiece is a must read. If you read it as a student you probably enjoyed the amazing adventures of two young boys and their outrageous antics. If you re-read it as an adult though you can see the story laced with the political and social issues of that time period. Its a meanigful and endearing read no matter what your age."
  5. 31

    #8A Room of One's Own

    A Room of One's Own

    In A Room of One's Own, author Virginia Woolf imagines that Shakespeare had a sister equal in talent, and genius, but her legacy is radically different. She never writes a word and dies by her own hand.

    Books

    Check price

    Janice Schneider
    Written on April 26, 2018
    "To Kill A Mockingbird is one of my favorite books ever and I was searching for something that I could read that would kind of recreate that feeling. I found a Room of One's Own and instantly fell in love with it."
  6. 16

    #910 Steps to Girlfriend Status (The Bird Face)

    10 Steps to Girlfriend Status (The Bird Face)
    10 Steps to Girlfriend Status is volume 2 of The Bird Face series by Cynthia T. Toney. It addresses a first innocent romance, ancestral interracial relationship, blended family, and friendship with and an Alzheimer's victim.
    Books

    Check price

    Christopher Riley
    Written on April 10, 2018
    "10 Steps to Girlfriend Status is the second book in the Bird Face series of novels. It's a strong follow up to the original, but stands well on it's own. I found it to be a strong reminder of books similar to the famous To Kill a Mockingbird as well."

Summary

Best What are the best books to read if you liked To Kill a Mockingbird
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings Books 45 Paid
2A Tree Grows in BrooklynBooks 41 Paid
3Roll of Thunder, Hear My CryBooks 40 Paid
4The HelpBooks 38 Paid
5Invisible ManBooks 36 Paid
6The Secret Life of BeesBooks 35 Paid
7The Adventures of Huckleberry FinnBooks 32 Free
8A Room of One's OwnBooks 31 Paid
910 Steps to Girlfriend Status (The Bird Face)Books 16 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.