What are the best books to read if you liked Andy Weir?

asked by Anonymous
210 contributors
10 solutions
  1. 31

    #1Phoenix Island

    Phoenix Island
    Phoenix Island is a critically acclaimed futuristic dystopic novel for young adults written by John Dixon. It was released in 2014 and won the Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel.

    Books

    Check price

    Tiffany Burke
    Written on May 2, 2018
    "Synopsis: Carl, a young troubled teen who has been found guilty of another assault charge is sent off to a military style boot camp called Phoenix Island. His need to punish bullies has finally landed him in this hell. These drill instructors seem to use any means necessary to get these cadets to change their delinquent ways. As the weeks go by on the island the cadets learn that there may be more going on here than just helping troubled teens. They realize that the "Old Man" is building an army at any means necessary, beatings, severe punishment, even murder. Carl must figure out a way to save his friends and himself and escape the island before he too is killed. My Review: Two words - Page turner. This author has a way of writing scenes so vivid you actually feel like you are there. There is a fight scene between Carl and Parker that I started reading before work one morning and I was so involved in the story I was late to work. Literally could not put the book down. I heard there was a review where a woman actually gagged reading one of the scenes, yes there were bugs involved but how well does a scene need to be written that it makes someone actually gag? To me that is fantastic writing."
  2. 27

    #2Ready Player One

    Ready Player One

    Ready Player One is a science fiction and dystopian novel by Ernest Cline published in 2011. It is about Wade Watts' search for an Easter egg hidden inside a virtual reality game world. It has a film adaptation directed by Steven Spielberg.

    Books

    Check price

    Jesse James
    Written on May 5, 2018
    "How can I not reccomend a worldwide bestseller than is being made into a movie directed by Steven Spielberg? This is a book that sucks you in quickly and doesn't let go."
  3. 26

    #3Ship Breaker

    Ship Breaker
    Ship Breaker is a dystopian novel written by Paolo Bacigalupi. It was published in 2010 and became a New York Times Bestseller. It won the Michael Printz Award and was voted into the VOYA 2010 Top Shelf for Middle School Readers.


    Books

    Check price

    Walter Duncan
    Written on April 27, 2018
    "After reading The Martian I found myself in the mood to explore the science fiction genre. I came across Ship Breaker and decided to pick up a copy. It wasn't very long so I didn't think it was a huge investment. I am happy that I did. The characters were very interesting and the plot moved along nicely. I look forward to reading the rest of the series."
  1. 23

    #4The 5th Wave

    The 5th Wave

    The 5th Wave is the first book in the young adult science fiction series The 5th Wave written by Rick Yancey which centers on Cassie who will trust no one as beings who look like humans are killing the humans they see until she meets Evan Walker. 

    Books

    Check price

    Joseph Perry
    Written on May 7, 2018
    "I saw the The 5th Wave movie and was curious about the book. I picked up a copy and started reading it. Immediately I fell in love with the book because it was so much better than the movie version. I like Andy Weir and think this is his best work."
  2. 23

    #5The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner)

    The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner)
    The Maze Runner is the first novel in The Maze Runner series written by James Dashner which centers on Thomas who wakes up in the lift and had an amnesia. 

    Books

    Check price

    Vibhore Mistry
    Written on April 28, 2018
    "The maze runner is part of an interesting series of novels, where the protagonist doesn't initially know what's going on. The series rates quite well with the general populace."
  3. 20

    #6The Eleventh Plague

    The Eleventh Plague
    The Eleventh Plague is a futuristic dystopic novel for young adults written by Jeff Hirsch. It was released in 2011 and is about a futuristic post-war America where only one-third of the people survived an influenza plague.
    Books

    Check price

    Michelle Rose
    Written on April 28, 2018
    "this book has a good plot but it was not what i was expecting. i was expecting a horror like maze runner."
  4. 18

    #7The Islands at the End of the World

    The Islands at the End of the World

    The Islands at the End of the World is a futuristic dystopic novel for young adults written by Austin Aslan. It was first released in 2014. it is about a dystopic future set in the islands of Hawaii.

    Books

    Check price

    Jason Carr
    Written on May 7, 2018
    "For a post apocalypse setting this one is actually kind of neat; if a bit nonsensical and dumb. An island removed so far from any mainland would no be affected in the same ways the mainland would be, yet this book pushed the same effects that way. A fun read, but not if you think about it too much."
  5. 15

    #8Artemis Awakening

    Artemis Awakening

    Artemis Awakening is the first book in New York Times bestseller Jane Lindskold's futuristic utopian series for young adults, the Artemis Awakening. It was released in June 2014. It is about a planet created by humans.

    Books

    Check price

    Christopher Owens
    Written on May 6, 2018
    "I am not really sure who andy weir is"
  6. 15

    #9Saline

    Saline

    Saline is a science fiction novel for young adults written by Dick Gillman. It was first published in 2013. It is about a student trying to right his colleagues' mistakes but must first aboard an old alien mining spaceship.

    Books

    Check price

    Joe Burns
    Written on May 1, 2018
    "Im just obsessed with Andy Weir. After telling a friend at my book club she suggested I pick this book up. I'm so glad I did. Very well written. Kept me interested the whole way through."
  7. 2

    #10Red Mars (Mars Trilogy)

    Red Mars (Mars Trilogy)

    Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson is the first book in the Mars Trilogy first published in 1992. This science fiction novel follows the story of a group of colonists about to create a new era of civilization on Mars.

    Books

    Check price

    Joseph McCoy
    Written on April 29, 2018
    "For readers who like Andy Weir and space books, the Mars Trilogy and Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson would make a great read. Also with the books being turned into a television series, now would be the perfect time to pick up Red Mars and starts the series. "

Summary

Best What are the best books to read if you liked Andy Weir
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1Phoenix IslandBooks 31 Paid
2Ready Player OneBooks 27 Paid
3Ship BreakerBooks 26 Paid
4The 5th WaveBooks 23 Paid
5The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner)Books 23 Paid
6The Eleventh PlagueBooks 20 Paid
7The Islands at the End of the WorldBooks 18 Paid
8Artemis AwakeningBooks 15 Paid
9SalineBooks 15 Paid
10Red Mars (Mars Trilogy)Books 2 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.