What are the best books to read if you liked The Glass Castle?

asked by Anonymous
93 contributors
10 solutions
  1. 16

    #1I Am Malala

    I Am Malala

    In 2009 Malala Yousafzai started writing a blog on BBC Urdu about how life was in the Swat Valley during the Taliban control. In 2012, gunmen boarded Malala's bus to school and shot her in the face, but Malala survived, sparking solidarity across Pakistan and globally. 

    Books

    Check price

    Aarav Kapoor
    Written on April 28, 2018
    "This book tells the story of what other young people go through when they want to get an education. The books tell the story of a young girl who almost died to be able to go to schools and get an education. The book " I am Malala" is a very good book but also sad and depressing."
  2. 14

    #2Speak

    Speak

    Speak is the multi-award winning novel by Laurie Halse Anderson. It is a harrowing young adult story about rape, post-traumatic stress disorder, and isolation in teens. It was published in 1999 and was adapted to film in 2004.

    Books

    Check price

    Ronald Fernandez
    Written on May 19, 2018
    "If you're looking for an incredible, moving book that will make you cry, this is it. This book is outstanding and really good. I couldn't put it down. "
  3. 12

    #3Girl, Interrupted

    Girl, Interrupted

    Girl, Interrupted is written by Susanna Kaysen. With over 100 pages, this book is first published in 1994 by Vintage. In 2000, this book became a bestseller because of a movie based on this book.

    Books

    Check price

    Kevin Harrison
    Written on May 5, 2018
    "This book provides a very detailed account for the different times that these events took place. I would say the book is less dramatic than the movie and goes into more detail. I liked that she recounts what happened after her stay in the psychiatric institution, but it would have been even better if there were more detail into her life before she was admitted."
  1. 11

    #4I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

    I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

    I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou captures the longing of lonely children, the brute insult of bigotry, and the wonder of words. This memoir is a modern classic that will touch hearts and change minds.

    Books

    Check price

    Christine Rodriguez
    Written on April 21, 2018
    "Similar in style and composition to The Glass Castle, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings is a must read for just about anyone. It's a classic by Maya Angelou and I'm a better person for reading it."
  2. 9

    #5A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is a classic coming-of-age book by Betty Smith that tells the story of a girl named Francie Nolan and her poverty-stricken family as they struggle to survive in early 20th century Brooklyn, New York.
    Books

    Check price

    Vicky Hu
    Written on April 23, 2018
    "The Glass Castle was good but this book is great. Everyone I tell to read comes back with the same look of excitement. Really helped me understand the trials and tribulations of Brooklyn."
  3. 8

    #6My Thirteenth Winter: A Memoir

    My Thirteenth Winter: A Memoir
    My Thirteenth Winter is a heart-warming memoir written by Samantha Abeel. She was a straight-A student despite her learning disability that makes it hard for her to compute even the simplest math problems.
    Books

    Check price

    Joyce Anderson
    Written on April 17, 2018
    "i never read glass castle but book seems okay"
  4. 6

    #7Thirteen Reasons Why

    Thirteen Reasons Why
    Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher narrates how Clay Jensen learns about the reasons why his classmate, workmate, and crush, Hannah Baker took her own life. Hannah Baker left cassette tapes so Clay and everyone involved could listen and discover why.
    Books

    Check price

    Arthur Johnson
    Written on May 18, 2018
    "I got into this book after watching the Netflix series of the same name. I also very much enjoyed the Glass Castle, which I felt helped my introduction to this book. I will say for certain I think the book is much more enjoyable and fulfilling than watching the series."
  5. 5

    #8Go Ask Alice

    Go Ask Alice

    Anonymously written, Go Ask Alice is a diary—which may be real or fictional— of a teenage girl who got sucked into a drug-filled world. This book chronicles her descent into addiction, as she takes to drugs to escape real life.

    Books

    Check price

    Jose Soto
    Written on April 19, 2018
    "amazing book, not sure what glass castle is about"
  6. 1

    #9Little House on the Prairie (Little House)

    Little House on the Prairie (Little House)

    Based on real-life experiences of Laura Ingalls, the Little House on the Prairie is the third book of the award-winning Little House series, that captivated generations of American and worldwide readers. 

    Books

    Check price

    Kyle Martinez
    Written on May 1, 2018
    "A classic story from Laura Ingalls Wilder about the early life of her husband Almanzo Wilder living near Malone New York. The story centers around Almanzo and his brother Royal and his sisters Eliza Jane and Alice. (Laura his eldest sibling was 22 and living elsewhere and his youngest sibling Pearly Day was not yet born). Almanzo's love of horses is a center theme of the book which takes you through the seasons in a farmer boy's year. What amazes me is the lack of waste back then. Nothing was wasted. Oat straws were used to make summer hats, apple cores were saved to make vinegar, ashes were saved to make lye soap, and the fat from the pig slaughter is used to make tallow for candles and other uses."
  7. 1

    #10Angela's Ashes (Frank McCourt)

    Angela's Ashes (Frank McCourt)

    Angela's Ashes is a book written by Frank McCourt and is the first in the Frank McCourt Series. This classic book recounts the author's survival during poverty and cruelty. It is published in 1996.

    Books

    Check price

    Pamela Reyes
    Written on April 24, 2018
    "This is a good book but sad. Makes your emotions go all over the place."

Summary

Best What are the best books to read if you liked The Glass Castle
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1I Am MalalaBooks 16 Paid
2SpeakBooks 14 Paid
3Girl, InterruptedBooks 12 Paid
4I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings Books 11 Paid
5A Tree Grows in BrooklynBooks 9 Paid
6My Thirteenth Winter: A MemoirBooks 8 Paid
7Thirteen Reasons WhyBooks 6 Paid
8Go Ask AliceBooks 5 Paid
9Little House on the Prairie (Little House)Books 1 Paid
10Angela's Ashes (Frank McCourt)Books 1 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.