What are the best Elmore Leonard Novels?

asked by Anonymous
254 contributors
10 solutions
  1. 40

    #1Get Shorty

    Get Shorty

    Get Shorty is a novel written by a great crime writer Elmore Leonard. This is the first book in the Chili Palmer Series and is published in 1990. This book was adapted into a movie in 1995, and it also became a TV series in 2017.

    Books

    Check price

    Victoria Quintana
    Written on March 17, 2018
    "I seen the movie quite a while ago and wanted to follow up with the book, because how much I enjoy the dark humor and crime. I am reading this book to my husband since it is one of his favorite authors, because I believe it is his best book yet. My husband loves it just as much as I do, I really like the snarkiness and the mafia aspect, it captivates you from the beginning."
  2. 33

    #2The Switch

    The Switch

    The Switch is a novel written by New York Times Bestseller author Elmore Leonard. This crime fiction book is the first in the Ordell Robbie & Louis Gara series. This book was published in 1978.

    Books

    Check price

    Jason Cooper
    Written on April 17, 2018
    "If you want an amazing Elmore Leonard Novel, go with The Switch. The book has won many awards and the way the book was written is beautiful."
  3. 29

    #3The Hunted

    The Hunted

    The Hunted is a novel written by Elmore Leonard, one of the greatest crime writers of all time. This suspense, crime and mystery novel is published in 1977. 

    Books

    Check price

    Larry Mendez
    Written on March 25, 2018
    "The Hunted is a great novel by one of the best writers known to man Elmore Leonard and this has to be one of his best books ever."
  1. 26

    #4Glitz

    Glitz

    Glitz is a crime fiction novel written by Elmore Leonard. It is published in 2006. It tells the story of Vincent Mora, a cop, who is sent to Atlantic City to chase down a killer.

    Books

    Check price

    Alan Sanders
    Written on March 15, 2018
    "Glitz was one of Leonard's best books. I was engrossed with it when I first read it."
  2. 24

    #5Stick

    Stick

    Stick is a 304-page crime fiction novel written by Elmore Leonard. It is published in 1983. It is about an ex-con who became a target of a psycho killer.

    Books

    Check price

    Mildred Soto
    Written on March 21, 2018
    "My favorite Elmore Leonard Novel is Stick. The length is just right and it is a classic from 1983. Leonard is a great author and this is a great story about a killer targeting an ex-con. "
  3. 22

    #6Swag

    Swag

    Swag is a crime fiction novel written by New York Times Bestselling author Elmore Leonard. It is published in 2004, and it tells the story of Frank and Stick who commit robbery and create rules for a successful robbery.

    Books

    Check price

    Gregory Simpson
    Written on March 26, 2018
    "for book lovers, i highly recommend swag, it is a fiction novel."
  4. 20

    #7Last Stand at Saber River

    Last Stand at Saber River

    Last Stand at Saber River is a western fiction novel written by Elmore Leonard. It was published in 1994. It tells the story of Paul Cable who learns that the Union Army and others have taken over the Cable family's land and future.

    Books

    Check price

    Abhinav Pillai
    Written on March 16, 2018
    "I'm a big fan of Elmore Leonard, he is one of my favorite living authors. Last Stand at Sabre River is a standard western in a good sense. A former confederate soldier returns to his ranch with his family to find it occupied by a Northern State supporter. He keeps the plot simple and unaffected and his language is sort of dry and dusty which goes very well along with the story. I recommend all Leonards westerns along with this one. Good stuff ! Give it a read ! "
  5. 19

    #8Hombre

    Hombre

    Hombre is a novel written by Elmore Leonard. It was first published in 1961, and it has a movie adaptation in 1967. This is about an Apache man named John Russell who intends to lead attached passengers to safety.

    Books

    Check price

    Johnny Peterson
    Written on April 7, 2018
    "For fans of Elmore Leonard novels, Hombre is one of his best. Published in 1961, with a movie adaption years later, the story centers on a white man raised as an Apache, shunned by white people but forced to become a hero for survival."
  6. 16

    #9Cat Chaser

    Cat Chaser

    Cat Chaser is a thriller novel written by New York Times Bestselling author Elmore Leonard. It is first published in 1983. This novel is about drugs, murder, and series of crime incidents.

    Books

    Check price

    Brian Bailey
    Written on March 23, 2018
    "This is definitely up there as being one of Elmore Leonard's best novels, if that's what you're looking for. It's one of my personal favorites. Arguably so, it might even be his best novel. Up against the likes of his other novels (such as Swag, Stick, and LaBrava), Cat Chaser, if not ranked number one, at least ranks in the top five of Leonard's best. The book is full of interesting, fun characters, and if that's not enough to suffice your literary needs, it's also full of action (crime, drugs, and even murder). The book is acknowledged as a thriller for a reason and likewise, Leonard is a New York Times best seller for a reason. It's surprising that this novel hasn't been turned into a movie yet. I enjoyed this novel; I was almost unable to ever put it down. I'd recommend this to any Elmore Leonard fan or even any literature fan in general."
  7. 15

    #10The Big Bounce

    The Big Bounce

    The Big Bounce by Elmore Leonard is the first book in the Jack Ryan series. This crime novel is published in 1969. Its first movie adaptation was in 1969, and the second was in 2004.

    Books

    Check price

    Mark Welch
    Written on March 23, 2018
    "When I read this novel it was very interesting and involving. I likes the story line and the mystery within it. The author is very talented and very creative. I highly recommend my friends to read this book and also watch the movie adaptation of it. "

Summary

Best What are the best Elmore Leonard Novels
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1Get ShortyBooks 40 Paid
2The SwitchBooks 33 Paid
3The HuntedBooks 29 Paid
4GlitzBooks 26 Paid
5StickBooks 24 Paid
6SwagBooks 22 Paid
7Last Stand at Saber RiverBooks 20 Paid
8HombreBooks 19 Paid
9Cat ChaserBooks 16 Paid
10The Big BounceBooks 15 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.