What are the best must-read books if you liked the Outlander series?

asked by Anonymous
328 contributors
12 solutions
  1. 40

    #1The Time Traveler's Wife

    The Time Traveler's Wife

    The Time Traveler's Wife is the debut novel of Audrey Niffenegger, which is about the story of married couple Clare and Henry who try to make their marriage work. It comes as they struggling with Henry's strange disorder of time traveling. 

    Books

    Check price

    Carl Long
    Written on April 24, 2018
    "It is interesting how the books that defy confinement to a single genre provide the most intriging premises. The Time Traveler’s Wife is neither romance, nor science fiction, nor pure fantasy. Henry, the time traveler, is the protagonist, with time itself as the antagonist. It is a man versus nature story told with new ideas. Points for originality."
  2. 36

    #2The Winter Sea (Slains)

    The Winter Sea (Slains)

    The Winter Sea is the first book in the Slains series by Susanna Kearsley. It tells the story of Carrie McClelland who wants to write a novel set on the early Scotland era. The Winter Sea is published in 2010 by Sourcebooks Landmark.

    Books

    Check price

    Howard Pearson
    Written on April 26, 2018
    "I loved Outlander. I thought it was a well moving series and I really loved some of the arcs the story was given. The Winter Sea was able to fill that void as far as books that are closely related to Outlander. I think that the way the plot functioned was perfect for the Scotland era."
  3. 34

    #3A Knight in Shining Armor (The Montgomery/Taggert Family Series)

    A Knight in Shining Armor (The Montgomery/Taggert Family Series)

    Dougles Montgomery was crying upon a tombstone, crying due to her terrible fate, when she met Nicholas Stafford, who died in 1564. Suddenly, strong attraction will be forged between them, but can the power of love be stronger than the chains that tie him to his own past?

    Books

    Check price

    There are no comments yet!

    Share your opinion
  1. 32

    #4Second Glance

    Second Glance

    Second Glance is a romance fiction and suspense novel written by Jodi Picoult. This book was originally published in April 2003 by the Simon & Schuster. It follows the investigation of Ross Wakerman after a land under a sacred controversy.

    Books

    Check price

    Ethan Howell
    Written on May 3, 2018
    "I loved Outlander series and a friend recommended Second Glance, saying it's very similar. Honestly, I can't say I enjoyed the book. It's not terrible, but doesn't come close to the Outlander."
  2. 30

    #5The Emperor's Seal

    The Emperor's Seal

    The Emperor's Seal is a fantasy fiction novel written by Amanda Roberts. This book was originally published in March 2018 by the Red Empress Publishing. It tells the story of a girl who time travels to take back the lost Emperor's Seal.

    Books

    Check price

    Kathryn Brewer
    Written on April 30, 2018
    "I really enjoyed this book. I know Outlander is a big thing right now, but this book is not derivative. I like that it is set in something other than medieval Europe. I like learning about other cultures."
  3. 29

    #6The Bronze Horseman

    The Bronze Horseman

    The Bronze Horseman is the first book in The Bronze Horseman trilogy. A story where Tatiana meets Alexander, a young officer of the Red Army who will fight against the Germans in the Leningrad siege. 

    Books

    Check price

    James Evans
    Written on April 26, 2018
    "If you are into history, war or anything of the sort, in some ways, you owe it to yourself to read this book as it is one that increases your interest in the genre and the history of it. I read through it and was amazed how telling and descriptive it was that I followed up with others in the series."
  4. 26

    #7Forever Amber

    Forever Amber

    Forever Amber is a historical fiction and romance novel written by Kathleen Winsor. This book was originally published in 1944 by the Macmillan Publishers. It has a film adaptation released in 1947.

    Books

    Check price

    Russell Stanley
    Written on April 25, 2018
    "Loved this book! Could hardly put it down. Obviously very well researched. No long, boring passages where nothing happens. Loved the realism of the characters! Some very conservative people may not appreciate the themes of this book, but if you can have an open mind, I know you will be thoroughly entertained. Didn't want the book to end, but it has a very satisfying ending that was true to the character."
  5. 24

    #8Where the Deer Dwell

    Where the Deer Dwell

    Where the Deer Dwell is a science fiction and fantasy romance novel written by Dorothy Gravelle. This time travel book was originally published in May 2012 by Diego Beach Publishing. It tells the story of Olivia Keller and her misadventures.

    Books

    Check price

    Joshua Peters
    Written on April 23, 2018
    "Where the Deer Dwell was an excellent book with an amazing story! The main charachter being a woman is not something you find often in this genre, so the development of the story and Olivia's misadventures were fresh and unique. I am glad I purchased this book as I will likely read this book again."
  6. 24

    #9Ivanhoe

    Ivanhoe

    Ivanhoe is a classic historical novel by Sir Walter Scott. It was originally published in 1820 in three volumes. It is set in 12th century England and it highlights the tension between the Norman conquerors and the Saxons.

    Books

    Check price

    Jennifer Hernandez
    Written on April 26, 2018
    "The thing I love about the Outlander series is the mix of passion and the historical plot. I was hoping to find another series as good as this one. I'm not sure if Ivanhoe fits the bill. It is definitely a historical novel, but seeing as it was written in the 1800s it probably doesn't have much of a passionate love sub-plot. "
  7. 21

    #10Pillar of the Sky: A Novel of Stonehenge

    Pillar of the Sky: A Novel of Stonehenge
    Pillar of the Sky: A Novel of Stonehenge is a historical fiction novel written by Cecelia Holland. This book was originally published in July 2000 by Tom Doherty Associates. It tells the tales of the Stonehenge built in the Salisbury Plain.
    Books

    Check price

    Roy Russell
    Written on April 26, 2018
    "A most unusual story based on the origin of Stonehenge, or at least one author's version of it. Steeped in the mystique of the ancient world, the story paints a picture of the beliefs, community life and trials & tribulations of life and survival in the distant past. Possibly not a book for everyone but interesting nevertheless"
  8. 19

    #11Into the Wilderness (Wilderness)

    Into the Wilderness (Wilderness)

    Into the Wilderness is the first book in the historical romance series Wilderness written by Sara Donati which centers on the love story between Elizabeth Middleton and Nathanial Booner.

    Books

    Check price

    Robert Schmidt
    Written on April 24, 2018
    "I read and enjoyed the Outlander series and wanted to find a similar series. The Wilderness series by Sara Donati was just that. I read Into the Wilderness, and immediately wanted to continue the epic story."
  9. 1

    #12Green Darkness

    Green Darkness
    Green Darkness is a story of the love between Richard Marsdon and Celia. When Celia suffers a breakdown and wavers between life and death, a doctor realizes that only by forcing Celia to relive her past can he enable her to escape her illness so she travels back 400 years in time to her past life.
    Books

    Check price

    Larry Henry
    Written on May 6, 2018
    "good"

Summary

Best What are the best must-read books if you liked the Outlander series
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1The Time Traveler's WifeBooks 40 Paid
2The Winter Sea (Slains)Books 36 Paid
3A Knight in Shining Armor (The Montgomery/Taggert Family Series)Books 34 Paid
4Second GlanceBooks 32 Paid
5The Emperor's SealBooks 30 Paid
6The Bronze HorsemanBooks 29 Paid
7Forever AmberBooks 26 Paid
8Where the Deer DwellBooks 24 Paid
9IvanhoeBooks 24 Paid
10Pillar of the Sky: A Novel of StonehengeBooks 21 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.