What are the best novels by Stephen king that are set in Maine?

asked by Anonymous
76 contributors
11 solutions
  1. 14

    #1'Salem's Lot

    'Salem's Lot

    'Salem's Lot is a book written by Stephen King which is about the story of Jerusalem’s Lot, a small town in Maine whose inhabitants succumb to the evil allure of a new resident. It was published by Anchor in 2008.

    Books

    Check price

    Keith Jordan
    Written on May 12, 2018
    "I recently read the book "'Salem's Lot" by Stephen King, and I really enjoyed it. It talk about the obscure story of Jerusalem's Lot, where a new resident will bring an evil allure that will infect all the inhabitants.. It won't let you sleep at night, but it's well worth!"
  2. 11

    #2Pet Sematary

    Pet Sematary

    Pet Sematary is a horror novel by Stephen King, which centers on the Creed family, who moves into a house in the Maine countryside and soon they find out that the woods near the house are much darker than they seem.

    Books

    Check price

    There are no comments yet!

    Share your opinion
  3. 9

    #3Cujo

    Cujo

    Cujo is horror fiction novel written by Stephen King which centers on 200-lb Saint Bernard named Cujo that turned into a horrifying vortex after he chases a rabbit into a bolt hole. 

    Books

    Check price

    Zachary Newman
    Written on May 10, 2018
    "There aren't many Stephen King books that are *not* set in Maine, but Cujo remains one of my favorites due to how different it is from so many of King's other works. Not so heavy on the supernatural, it reminds you of the potential horror that could be waiting when you see that unknown dog on your street, barking its fool head off at you, but also makes you think a bit more deeply about violence itself."
  1. 8

    #4Bag of Bones

    Bag of Bones

    Bag of Bones is a suspense novel written by Stephen King. It was first published in 1998 by Pocketbooks under ISBN: 067102423X. It won the British Fantasy Award, Bram Stoker Award for Novel, and August Derleth Award

    Books

    Check price

    William Pierce
    Written on May 5, 2018
    "Bag of Bones is a well known novel by the infamous Stephen King. I have not read the book personally but my wife has and she says it is one of his best. It is very suspenseful and leaves the reader continually wanting to read more."
  2. 7

    #5Hearts in Atlantis

    Hearts in Atlantis
    Hearts in Atlantis is a collection of five stories by Stephen King. The stories "Low Men in Yellow Coats," "Hearts in Atlantis," "Blind Willie," "Why We're in Vietnam," and "Heavenly Shades of Night are Falling" are all connected through the Vietnam War.
    Books

    Check price

    There are no comments yet!

    Share your opinion
  3. 5

    #6Carrie

    Carrie

    Carrie is a horror novel by Stephen King that tells the story of Carrie White, a girl that's constantly bullied by her schoolmates. When she finally has a chance to be normal, an unforeseen cruel act will end in horrible disaster.

    Books

    Check price

    Sean Liang
    Written on May 8, 2018
    "Reading this puts very vivid images in my mind of the place I grew up in. The atmosphere in the book is pretty damn good. It's a well written classic, what more is there to say about it? Personally I've read it more than a few times and its one of the best."
  4. 5

    #7Dreamcatcher

    Dreamcatcher
    Dreamcatcher is a science-fiction horror novel written by Stephen King. It was first published in 2001 by Charles Scribner's Sons under ISBN: 1501156756. The movie Dreamcatcher is based on this novel.
    Books

    Check price

    Kyle Ward
    Written on May 14, 2018
    "This is one of my favorite King novels. Really unique. Some beautiful moments in here. I found it to be my go-to example of a book about true friendship. Been years since I read it and I can still recite some passages by memory."
  5. 3

    #8Different Seasons

    Different Seasons
    Different Seasons is a collection of four novellas by Stephen King: "Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption," "Apt Pupil," "The Body," which was the basis of the hit movie Stand By Me, and "The Breathing Method."

    Books

    Check price

    Stephen Alvarez
    Written on May 4, 2018
    "This novel is actually a collection of four shorter novellas, two of which ("Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption" and "The Body") are clearly set in the state of Maine. Both of these stories have been adapted into major films, and may be of interest for fans of The Shawshank Redemption and Stand by Me respectively. In my opinion, the whole series is a solid entry in the King canon, but others (like "'Salem's Lot") make much better use of the Maine setting."
  6. 2

    #9Dolores Claiborne (French Edition)

    Dolores Claiborne (French Edition)

    Dolores Claiborne (French Edition) is suspense novel written by Stephen King and translated by Dominique Dill. It was first published in 1992 by Pocketbooks.

    Books
    Amanda Bryant
    Written on May 5, 2018
    "This book would be a great recommendation for French readers, specifically. This one depends on what types of languages the question is asking for, for example if this was recommended to an American viewer, chances are they won't know how to read French, whereas if it were recommended to a Canadian viewer they would probably be somewhat more likely to read French."
  7. 1

    #10It

    It

    It is a thriller book written by Stephen King which tells the story of seven adults who return to their hometown to confront a nightmare they had first stumbled on as teenagers.

    Books

    Check price

    George Wagner
    Written on May 9, 2018
    "This is my first Stephen King novel and I was constantly shocked at the depth King went to on character-to-character interactions. Hard to imagine this book was written in the 1980's. The word journey best describes this book. If you are buying this novel because of a killer clown, you have no idea what your getting into. This is a wonderful book that everyone should read at least once. This book will creep you out."
  8. 0

    #11Four Past Midnight: The Sun Dog

    Four Past Midnight: The Sun Dog

    Four Past Midnight: The Sun Dog is a horror novel written by Stephen King and narrated by Tim Sample. This fictional horror novel was published on September 16, 2008 by HighBridge Audio.

    Books

    Check price

    Gary Diaz
    Written on May 11, 2018
    "My uncle bought me this book for my birthday because he knows I'm a fan of Stephen King's work. To be honest, practically all Stephen King novels are set in Maine... Four Past Midnight: The Sun Dog is one of King's lesser known works. I know what you're thinking - you want to know how much it resembles Cujo. Well, not too much. The story itself is fresh and I'd recommend anyone who is vaguely a fan of Stephen King check out this book."

Summary

Best What are the best novels by Stephen king that are set in Maine
RankSolutionsTypeVotesPrice
1'Salem's LotBooks 14 Paid
2Pet SemataryBooks 11 Paid
3CujoBooks 9 Paid
4Bag of BonesBooks 8 Paid
5Hearts in AtlantisBooks 7 Paid
6CarrieBooks 5 Paid
7DreamcatcherBooks 5 Paid
8Different SeasonsBooks 3 Paid
9Dolores Claiborne (French Edition)Books 2 Paid
10ItBooks 1 Paid
Close

This action requires you to be logged in

Quickly sign in with your social media account:

What interests you most? (Select at least 3)

This will help us to keep things fresh and relevant!

Close

Now that you’ve found a solution...

Why not join our community of sharp minds and pro-active posters?

Be part of a rewarding interactive knowledge exchange!
Close

Join These Inquisitive Minds

Engage, learn and share with a friendly community versed in a massive range of trending topics.